Skip to main content
Situation Room

Coach's Challenge: LAK @ ANA - 12:54 of the Third Period

No goal Los Angeles

NHL.com @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: LAK vs. ANA

Situation Room: Clifford goal overturned for offside

The Ducks challenge Kyle Clifford's goal for offsides, and after video review, the call on the ice is overturned to no goal in the 3rd period

  • 02:35 •

At 12:54 of the third period in the Kings/Ducks game, Anaheim requested a Coach's Challenge to review whether Trevor Lewis was off-side prior to Kyle Clifford's goal.

After reviewing all available replays and consulting with the Linesmen, the Situation Room determined that Lewis was off-side prior to the goal. According to Rule 78.7, "The standard for overturning the call in the event of a 'GOAL' call on the ice is that the Toronto Video Room, after reviewing any and all available replays and consulting with the Linesman, determines that one or more Players on the attacking team preceded the puck into the attacking zone prior to the goal being scored and that, as a result, the play should have been stopped for an "Off-side" infraction; where this standard is met, the goal will be disallowed."

Therefore, the original call is overturned - no goal Los Angeles Kings.

The clock is re-set to show 7:12 (12:48 elapsed time), when the off-side infraction occurred.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.