Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Ottawa Senators

Senators News

Senators name Brady Tkachuk 10th team captain in franchise history

by Sens Communications @Media_Sens / Ottawa Senators

OTTAWA - The Ottawa Senators announced today that forward Brady Tkachuk has been named the 10th captain in franchise history. Tkachuk, 22, is in the midst of his fourth National Hockey League season with Ottawa.

"Brady personfies leadership," said Senators owner and governor Eugene Melnyk. "While on the ice, he craves winning and commands respect. Off of it, he routinely sets a good example for his teammates and carries himself with a combination of confidence and dignity. He's deserving of this next step in his career. We're proud to bestow the honour of being the team's 10th captain upon him."

A St. Louis native, Tkachuk will play his first game as the team's captain tomorrow when the Senators host the Tampa Bay Lightning at 2 p.m. He will enter the contest having skated in 205 games for his NHL career over which he has recorded 128 points (61 goals, 67 assists) and 269 penalty minutes.

"Brady's ingrained understanding of what it means to be a pro has made him the right choice for the team's captaincy," said Senators general manager Pierre Dorion. "He holds a unique skill set and places team success above all else. Admired by teammates and coaches, and respected by opponents, he's certain to serve as a great ambassador for both our team and for the city of Ottawa."

Internationally, Tkachuk captained Team U.S.A to a gold medal at the 2017 IIHF U-18 World Junior Championship and helped the Americans to a bronze medal at the 2018 IIHF WJC by ranking third in team scoring with nine points (three goals, six assists) over seven games in Buffalo, N.Y.

 A 2019-20 NHL All-Star, Tkachuk will succeed Laurie Boschman (1992-93), Gord Dineen, Mark Lamb and Brad Shaw (1993-94 rotation), Randy Cunneyworth (1994-95 to 1997-98), Alexei Yashin (1998-99), Daniel Alfredsson (1999-2000 to 2012-13), Jason Spezza (2013-14) and Erik Karlsson (2014-18) as team captain. 

Tkachuk's role as team captain will see him supported by full-time alternate Thomas Chabot and a rotating group comprised of Connor Brown, Nick Paul and Nikita Zaitsev.

Visit the Senators website:

Engage with the Senators on Twitter: @Senators

Like the Senators on Facebook:

Follow the Senators on Instagram: senators

- end -

View More