Skip to main content
NHL Awards

NHL Awards A to Z

From Art Ross Trophy to Henrik Zetterberg, and everything in between

by NHL Public Relations @PR_NHL

Art Ross Trophy, awarded to the League's scoring champion, who is Edmonton Oilers forward Connor McDavid this season (2016-17). McDavid is the third- youngest player to win the Art Ross Trophy, behind Sidney Crosby and Wayne Gretzky.



Bergeron, Patrice - three-time Selke winner (2011-12, 2013-14, 2014-15), is a finalist for Frank J. Selke Trophy for the sixth consecutive year, matching the streak of Pavel Datsyuk (2008-2013) as the longest since the award was introduced in 1978.



Clancy Trophy, the annual award given to the player who best exemplifies leadership qualities on and off the ice, has never been awarded to an NHL player more than once.



Datsyuk, Pavel - was an NHL Trophy finalist 12 times in eight seasons from 2005-06 through 2012-13. Datsyuk was a top-three finisher for Frank Selke Trophy six times (2007-08, 2008-09, 2009-10, 2010-11, 2011-12, 2012-13), the Lady Byng Trophy five times (2005-06, 2006-07, 2007-08, 2008-09, 2009-10) and the Hart Trophy once in that span (2008-09).



Expansion Draft: the process in which a new team acquires players, which will be held in conjunction with the 2017 NHL Awards this year for the League's 31st team, the Vegas Golden Knights. This is the first expansion draft since 2000, when the Columbus Blue Jackets and the Minnesota Wild joined the League.



Francis, Ron - the Hockey Hall of Fame center and current General Manager of the Carolina Hurricanes won two awards in 1995 as a member of the Pittsburgh Penguins: the Frank Selke Trophy and the Lady Byng Trophy. He later won another Byng in 1997-98 with Pittsburgh and three awards in the 2001-02 season with the Carolina Hurricanes: NHL Foundation Player Award, Clancy Trophy, and the Lady Byng Trophy.



Gaudreau, Johnny - "Johnny Hockey", in contention to win the Lady Byng Trophy this year, already has been voted an NHL Awards finalists in his brief NHL career: in 2014-15 he finished third in voting for the Calder Trophy as the League's top rookie.



Hull, Bobby - won the Hart Trophy in both 1964-65 and 1965-66 to become the fourth player in League history to earn the award in consecutive seasons.



Iginla, Jarome - the current Los Angeles Kings player was a finalist for the Hart Trophy twice in a three-season span with the Calgary Flames, finishing second in voting in 2001-02 and 2003-04. He was edged via tiebreaker by Montreal Canadiens goaltender Jose Theodore in 2002 in the closest vote in Hart Trophy history. Iginla was also a Hart finalist in 2008 with Calgary.



Jagr, Jaromir - was a finalist for the Hart Trophy for four consecutive years, from 1997-98 through 2000-01. No player has managed the feat since. In that span Jagr finished first once (1998-99), second twice (1997-98, 1999-00) and third once (2000-01) in voting.



Kane, Patrick - the Buffalo, N.Y., native became the first U.S.-born and trained player to capture the Hart Trophy in 2016. The only previous Hart winner born in the U.S. -- Billy Burch, who received the trophy with the Hamilton Tigers in 1925 -- moved to Canada from his birthplace of Yonkers, N.Y., at an early age.



Las Vegas - the first year the NHL Awards took place in Las Vegas was 2009, and has been hosted here 7 times since.



Messier NHL Leadership Award, whose winner is ultimately selected by Mark Messier himself, is presented to the player who exemplifies great leadership qualities to his team, on and off the ice, during the regular season. Messier, one of the finest leaders in NHL history is a six-time Stanley Cup champion and one of three players to have captained three teams (Edmonton, N.Y. Rangers, Vancouver).



NHL Foundation Player Award, presented to an NHL player who applies the core values of hockey - commitment, perseverance and teamwork - to enrich the lives of people in his community. This year's finalists, Travis Hamonic (NYI) and Wayne Simmonds (PHI), have both pioneered their own charitable programs to benefit children in need.



Orr, Bobby - the Boston Bruins great captured the Norris Trophy as the NHL's best defenseman eight consecutive times from 1968 through 1975, a run of domination unmatched by any other blueliner.

Video: Memories: Bobby Orr wins his eighth-straight Norris



PHWA - stands for Professional Hockey Writers Association, a group of hockey journalists that submit ballots to vote for finalists for 7 of the trophies presented at the NHL Awards: Hart, Calder, Norris, Selke, Byng, Masterton and Conn Smythe.



Quackenbush, Bill - the first defenseman to win the Lady Byng Memorial Trophy for "sportsmanship and gentlemanly conduct" in the 1948-49 season, the same season that he played without tallying a single penalty.



Rutherford, Jim - the only person to have won the General Manager of the Year and the Stanley Cup trophy in the same year (2015-16 with the Pittsburgh Penguins).




Seventeen - players from the Montreal Canadiens have won the Hart Memorial Trophy seventeen times - the most of any franchise in NHL History. (Herb Gardiner 1927; Howie Morenz 1928, 1931, 1932; Aurel Joliat 1934; Babe Siebert 1937; Toe Blake 1939; Elmer Lach 1945; Maurice Richard 1947; Jean Beliveau 1956; Bernie Geoffrion 1961; Jacques Plante 1962; Jean Beliveau 1964; Guy Lafleur 1977, 1978; Jose Theodore 2002; Carey Price 2015).

[RELATED: Complete list of All-Time Award Winners]



Trottier, Bryan - the first player from a post-Original Six expansion team to win the Art Ross Trophy, doing so with the Islanders in 1978-79 (134 points).



Under 21: only two players in NHL History have won the Hart Memorial Trophy before their 21st birthday, Wayne Gretzky and Sidney Crosby. The Hart Trophy is awarded to the player adjudged to be the most valuable to his team, and Connor McDavid is vying to be the third to earn the honor before his 21st birthday.



Vanbiesbrouck, John - The goaltending heroics of the "Beezer" for the expansion Florida Panthers in 1993-94 earned him a spot among the finalists for the Hart Trophy as NHL MVP.



Wilson, Doug - The all-time scoring leader among Chicago Blackhawks defensemen, Wilson captured the 1982 Norris Trophy in fine style, edging NHL legends Ray Bourque and Paul Coffey in the voting.



X marks the spot. When the names of this season's championship team are etched on the Stanley Cup, the bottom band of the trophy - which holds the names of every champion since 2006 -- will be completely full. To maintain the Stanley Cup's current size, a new band, to house the 2018 winners and beyond, will replace the band that honors the winners from 1954 through 1965.



Yzerman, Steve - eclipsed 100 points for siz consecutive seasons from 1987-88 to 1992-93, capturing the Lester B. Pearson Award (now named the Ted Lindsay Award) with 65-90-155 in 1988-89; Yzerman was also a Conn Smythe Trophy winner (1998), Selke Trophy winner (1999-00) and Masterton Trophy winner (2002-03). In 2015, he was voted winner of the NHL General Manager of the Year Award with the Tampa Bay Lightning (2015).



Zetterberg, Henrik - The Red Wings' classy center is no stranger to the NHL Awards, finishing second in Calder Trophy voting in 2003, third in Selke Trophy balloting in 2008 and receiving the NHL Foundation Player Award in 2013 for outstanding community service. Zetterberg also won the Conn Smythe Trophy in 2008 as MVP of the Stanley Cup Playoffs.

View More

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.