Skip to Main Content
Situation Room

Video Review: TOR @ MTL - 2:49 of the Second Period

Referee's call on the ice stands - no goal Montreal @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: TOR vs. MTL - P/2

Situation Room: On-ice call stands after review

2/27/16: Brendan Gallagher's tip-in goal is waived off and, after a review, the on-ice call of no goal stands

  • 01:00 •

At 2:49 of the second period in the Maple Leafs/Canadiens game, video review confirmed that Brendan Gallagher's stick was above the height of the crossbar when he deflected the puck into the Toronto net. According to Rule 60.5 "An apparent goal scored by an attacking player who strikes the puck with his stick carried above the height of the crossbar of the goal frame shall not be allowed. The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick." Therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - no goal Montreal.

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.