Skip to Main Content
Situation Room

Video Review: BOS @ CAR - 10:09 of the First Period

Play is not reviewable - no goal Bruins @NHLdotcom

Situation Room: BOS vs. CAR

Situation Room: No-goal call stands in the 1st

The referees determine the whistle was blown before the puck crossed the goal line with Curtis McElhinney's pad, and the call stands as no goal

  • 00:42 •

At 10:09 of the first period in the Bruins/Hurricanes game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Carolina net. The Referee informed the Situation Room that he blew his whistle to stop play before Boston's David Backes pushed Carolina goaltender Curtis McElhinney's pad and puck across the goal line. The decision was made in accordance of Rule 31.2 which states, in part, that "the Referee may deem the play to be stopped slightly prior to the whistle actually being blown. The fact that the puck may come loose or cross the goal line prior to the sound of the whistle has no bearing if the Referee has ruled that the play had been stopped prior to this happening." This is not a reviewable play - no goal Boston Bruins.

View More

The NHL has updated its Privacy Policy effective January 16, 2020. We encourage you to review it carefully.

The NHL uses cookies, web beacons, and other similar technologies. By using NHL websites or other online services, you consent to the practices described in our Privacy Policy and Terms of Service, including our Cookie Policy.