Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Tampa Bay Lightning

Steven Stamkos named to NHL All-Decade Second Team

Stamkos' 363 goals in the 2010s ranks him second in the League over that span

by Bryan Burns @BBurnsNHL /

Tampa Bay Lightning captain Steven Stamkos has been named one of the best players in the National Hockey League for the 2010s.

Stamkos was voted to the NHL's 2010s All-Decade Second Team as selected by a panel of NHL general managers, NHL hockey operations staff, writers and on-air talent from NBC, Sportsnet and TVAS. Stamkos is the only Lightning player ever designated All-Decade status. Martin St. Louis was an honorable mention selection for the League's 2000s All-Decade team.

Stamkos is certainly a worthy pick. The 29 year old played in 662 games during the 2010s and compiled 363 goals, 356 assists and 719 points. He ranks second for goals in the decade behind only Alex Ovechkin (437) and fifth for points.

Video: LAK@TBL: Stamkos pushes in goal with backhand

Stamkos also collected 136 power-play goals in the 2010s, second most in the League behind Ovechkin (171).

Stamkos ranked fourth during the decade for points per game (1.09).

Stamkos was a six-time NHL All-Star Game participant during the decade (2011, 2012, 2015, 2016, 2018 and 2019) and was named to the NHL's postseason All-Star Second Team two times (2011 and 2012). He won the Maurice 'Rocket' Richard Trophy twice, first as a co-winner in 2010, sharing honors with Pittsburgh's Sidney Crosby after notching 51 goals. He won the Rocket Richard outright in 2012 when he netted a career-high 60 goals during the 2011-12 season.

Stamkos helped lead the Lightning to four Eastern Conference Finals appearances (2011, 2015, 2016 and 2018) during the decade and a trip to the Stanley Cup Final in 2015. He was named the 10th different captain in Lightning franchise history on March 6, 2014 and has remained in that position since.

View More