Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Washington Capitals

2019 U.S. Hockey HOF Class to Participate in Ceremonial Puck Drop

Group to be inducted into U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame Dec. 12 in Washington, D.C.

by Washington Capitals @capitals /

ARLINGTON, Va. - Members of the 2019 U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame class will participate in a ceremonial puck drop prior to the Capitals game vs. the Boston Bruins at 7 p.m. on Wednesday, Dec. 11 at Capital One Arena.

Inductees participating in the puck drop include NHL alumni and Olympians Brian Gionta and Tim Thomas, Olympian Krissy Wendell, and Fort Dupont Ice Arena Founder Neal Henderson. NHL Commissioner Gary Bettman, who will also be inducted during tomorrow's event, will not be in attendance tonight.

The group will be enshrined into the United States Hockey Hall of Fame as the Class of 2019 on Dec. 12 at the Marriott Marquis in Washington, D.C.

Henderson co-founded the Fort Dupont Ice Hockey Club in 1978. Fort Dupont is the only full-size indoor ice arena in Washington, D.C., and the Fort Dupont Cannons are the oldest minority youth hockey program in North America. For additional biographical information on Henderson and each inductee,click here.

In addition to the enshrinement on Dec. 12, Capitals captain Alex Ovechkin will be honored with the prestigious Wayne Gretzky International Award as part of the Induction Celebration on Dec. 12. The award, established by the U.S. Hockey Hall of Fame in 1999, pays tribute to international individuals who have made major contributions to the growth and advancement of hockey in the United States. For additional information on the award and Ovechkin's impact on youth hockey in the region, click here.

View More