Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Minnesota Wild


2020 Minnesota Wild Leadership Summit

Presented by West Bend Mutual Insurance

The 4th Annual Minnesota Wild Leadership Summit presented by West Bend Mutual Insurance will be held virtually on Monday, July 13, 2020 from 9:00 AM - 12:30 PM. The Leadership Summit is free of charge and is open to the first 500 boys and girls high school hockey captains and coaches. Teams will be accepted on a first-come, first-served basis.

Attendees will have the opportunity to hear from industry leaders, coaches and former captains from the State of Hockey and beyond. Please click on the link below for a detailed schedule and a list of speakers scheduled to appear.

The Virtual Leadership Summit will be hosted on Zoom. Registrants will receive the Zoom meeting link after they register. Coaches and captains from the same team are encouraged (not required) to join the Zoom webinar together from the same location while practicing safe social distancing procedures.

The Minnesota Wild Leadership Summit is supported by the NHL, NHLPA, Minnesota Hockey, the Minnesota State High School League, the Minnesota Boys and Girls Hockey Coaches Associations and the Positive Coaching Alliance.

All questions should be directed to Kalli Funk at

9:00-9:10 am: Welcome & Video 

  • Host: Ryan Carter
  • Moderator: Kevin Gorg

9:10-9:45 am: Panel #1: Q&A 

  • Bill Guerin - Minnesota Wild General Manager

9:45-10:20 am: Diversity & Inclusion Panel

  • Kim Davis - Executive Vice President, Social Impact, Growth Initiatives & Legislative Affairs, National Hockey League
  • Stephanie Jackson - Director of Diversity & Inclusion, USA Hockey

10:20-10:30 am: Break & Video

10:30-11:05 am: High School Captains Panel

  • Blake Biondi - Hermantown High School
  • Charlie Strobel - Hill-Murray High School
  • Addie Burton - The Blake School
  • Sophia Jamieson - Bloomington Jefferson High School 

11:05-11:40 am: Panel #4: High School Coaches

  • Steve "Moose" Younghans - St. Paul Johnson High School
  • Bill Lechner - Hill-Murray High School
  • Melissa Volk - Andover High School
  • Elsa Bruestle - White Bear Lake High School

11:40-11:50: Break & Video

11:50 am-12:25 pm: Professional Players Panel

  • Allie Thunstrom - North St. Paul/Boston College/Team USA/Minnesota Whitecaps 
  • Lee Stecklein - Roseville/ U of M/Team USA
  • David Backes - Spring Lake Park/MSU/St. Louis Blues/Boston Bruins/Anaheim Ducks
  • Paul Martin - Elk River/U of M/New Jersey Devils/Pittsburgh Penguins/San Jose Sharks

12:25-12:30 pm: Closing Remarks

*The schedule and speakers are subject to change.


Exclusive Audio