FOUNDATION | Jennings | Rocket | Ross | PRESIDENTS' | Wales | campbell | conn smythe | stanley cup

Ted Lindsay Award

The Ted Lindsay Award (formerly Lester B. Pearson Award) is presented annually to the "most outstanding player" in the NHL as voted by fellow members of the National Hockey League Players' Association.

The award was first handed out at the conclusion of the 1971–72 NHL season. It honors Hall of Famer Ted Lindsay, an All-Star forward known for his skill, tenacity, leadership, and for his role in establishing the original Players' Association. The players' accolade will continue to be presented annually to the "Most Outstanding Player" in the NHL, as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA.

Wayne Gretzky won the award five times during his career. Members of the Pittsburgh Penguins have won the award the most number of times, with nine winners, followed by the Edmonton Oilers, with six winners.

The Lindsay Award is considered to be the companion of the Hart Memorial Trophy—thirteen players have won both trophies for the same season: Guy Lafleur, Wayne Gretzky, Mario Lemieux , Mark Messier, Brett Hull, Sergei Fedorov, Eric Lindros, Dominik Hasek, Jaromir Jagr, Joe Sakic, Martin St. Louis, Sidney Crosby and Alexander Ovechkin.

Of those thirteen, only Lafleur, Gretzky, Lemieux, Jagr, St. Louis, Crosby, and Ovechkin have also won the Art Ross Trophy for the same season and completed a Hart-Pearson-Art Ross sweep.

past Recipients
Year Player Team
2015 Carey Price Montreal Canadiens
2013 Sidney Crosby pittsburgh penguins
2012 Evgeni Malkin pittsburgh penguins
2011 Daniel Sedin Vancouver Canucks
2010 Alex Ovechkin Washington Capitals
2009 Alex Ovechkin Washington Capitals
2008 Alex Ovechkin Washington Capitals
2007 Sidney Crosby Pittsburgh Penguins
2006 Jaromir Jagr New York Rangers
2004 Martin St. Louis Tampa Bay Lightning
2003 Markus Naslund Vancouver Canucks
2002 Jarome Iginla Calgary Flames
2001 Joe Sakic Colorado Avalanche
2000 Jaromir Jagr Pittsburgh Penguins
1999 Jaromir Jagr Pittsburgh Penguins
1998 Dominik Hasek Buffalo Sabres
1997 Dominik Hasek Buffalo Sabres
1996 Mario Lemieux Pittsburgh Penguins
1995 Eric Lindros Philadelphia Flyers
1994 Sergei Fedorov Detroit Red Wings
1993 Mario Lemieux Pittsburgh Penguins
1992 Mark Messier New York Rangers
1991 Brett Hull St. Louis Blues
1990 Mark Messier Edmonton Oilers
1989 Steve Yzerman Detroit Red Wings
1988 Mario Lemieux Pittsburgh Penguins
1987 Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers
1986 Mario Lemieux Pittsburgh Penguins
1985 Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers
1984 Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers
1983 Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers
1982 Wayne Gretzky Edmonton Oilers
1981 Mike Liut St. Louis Blues
1980 Marcel Dionne Los Angeles Kings
1979 Marcel Dionne Los Angeles Kings
1978 Guy Lafleur Montreal Canadiens
1977 Guy Lafleur Montreal Canadiens
1976 Guy Lafleur Montreal Canadiens
1975 Bobby Orr Boston Bruins
1974 Bobby Clarke Philadelphia Flyers
1973 Phil Esposito Boston Bruins
1972 Jean Ratelle New York Rangers
1971 Phil Esposito Boston Bruins


NHL GameCenter LIVE™ is now NHL.TV™.
Watch out-of-market games and replays with an all new redesigned media player, mobile and connected device apps.


NHL Mobile App

Introducing the new official NHL App, available for iPhone, iPad and Android smartphones and tablets. A host of new features and improved functionality are available across all platforms, including a redesigned league-wide scoreboard, expanded news coverage, searchable video highlights, individual team experiences* and more. The new NHL App on your tablet also introduces new offerings such as 60fps video, Multitasking** and Picture-in-Picture.

*Available only for smartphones
** Available only for suported iPads