Welcome |Account|Sign Out 
Username or EmailPassword
Round 2
Round 3
Stanley Cup Final
FOUNDATION | Jennings | Rocket | Ross | PRESIDENTS' | Wales | campbell | conn smythe | stanley cup

Richard TrophyMaurice Richard Trophy

The Maurice Richard Trophy is an annual award given to the National Hockey League's top goal scorer by the NHL Board of Governors.

The winner(s) are determined based on regular-season play.

The Maurice Richard Trophy, officially unveiled on Jan. 24, 1999, was a gift to the NHL from the Montreal Canadiens to honor the first player in League history to score 50 goals in 50 games, 50 goals in a season and 500 in a career.

2013 winner
Alex Ovechkin
alex ovechkin
left wing - wsh
Goals: 32 | Assists: 24 | Pts: 56
Shots: 220 | +/-: +2

2013 Winner: Alex Ovechkin, Washington Capitals
Ovechkin scored 32 goals to capture his third Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy (2007-08, 2008-09), finishing ahead of Stamkos (29) and New York Islanders center John Tavares (28). Ovechkin totaled nine goals in his first 25 games, but scored 23 times in his final 23 contests, including a five-game streak from March 17-24, to take over the scoring lead.

He recorded his 30th goal April 20 at Montreal, becoming the ninth player in League history to score 30 or more goals in each of his first eight seasons. Ovechkin’s 32nd and final goal of the season came in his 600th NHL game April 25 vs. Winnipeg, giving him 371 for his career – the eighth-most by any player in League history through their first 600 games.

Since 2005-06, Ovechkin’s first season in the NHL, no player has more goals or points (735). He is the first three-time winner of the Maurice “Rocket” Richard Trophy, which was first awarded in 1998-99.
Past Recipients
Year Player Team Goals
2013 alex ovechkin Washington Capitals 32
2012 Steven Stamkos Tampa Bay Lightning 60
2011 Corey Perry Anaheim Ducks 50
2010 Sidney Crosby Pittsburgh Penguins 51
  Steven Stamkos Tampa Bay Lightning 51
2009 Alex Ovechkin Washington Capitals 56
2008 Alex Ovechkin Washington Capitals 65
2007 Vincent Lecavalier Tampa Bay Lightning 52
2006 Jonathan Cheechoo San Jose Sharks 56
2004 Jarome Iginla Calgary Flames 41
  Rick Nash Columbus Blue Jackets 41
  Ilya Kovalchuk Atlanta Thrashers 41
2003 Milan Hejduk Colorado Avalanche 50
2002 Jarome Iginla Calgary Flames 52
2001 Pavel Bure Florida Panthers 59
2000 Pavel Bure Florida Panthers 58
1999 Teemu Selanne Mighty Ducks of Anaheim 47

I was in there icing my face as she was trying to push a baby out.

— Anaheim Ducks forward Ryan Getzlaf on going to the hospital with a facial laceration while his wife was in labor following Game 1 on Wednesday