FOUNDATION | Jennings | Rocket | Ross | PRESIDENTS' | Wales | campbell | conn smythe | stanley cup

Jennings TrophyWilliam M. Jennings Trophy

The William M. Jennings Trophy is an annual award given to the goalkeeper(s) having played a minimum of 25 games for the team with the fewest goals scored against it. Winners are selected based on regular-season play.

Previously, the Vezina Trophy was awarded on these merits (1946-81).  A total of six goaltenders have won both the Jennings and Vezina Trophies in the same season.  Calgary's Miikka Kiprusoff and Boston's Tim Thomas have done so in recent seasons, while four others have won both trophies on two separate occasions -- Patrick Roy, Martin Brodeur, Ed Belfour and Dominik Hasek.

The Jennings Trophy was presented in 1981-82 by the National Hockey League's Board of Governors to honor the late William M. Jennings, longtime governor and president of the New York Rangers and one of the great builders of hockey in the United States.

2015 WinnerS
Corey Crawford
Corey Crawford
Goalie - CHI
RECORD: 32-20-5
GAA: 2.27 | SVP: 0.924
Corey Crawford
Carey Price
Goalie - MTL
RECORD: 44-16-6
GAA: 1.96 | SVP: 0.933

2015 Winners:
Corey Crawford, Chicago Blackhawks and
Carey Price, Montreal Canadiens

Crawford captured the Jennings Trophy for the second time in three seasons (also 2012- 13), posting a 32-20-5 record with a 2.27 goals-against average, .924 save percentage and two shutouts in 57 appearances. He allowed two goals or fewer in each of his final four starts of the regular season from April 2-9.

Price, who won his first career Jennings Trophy, set a franchise record for victories by going 44-16-6, surpassing the previous mark of 42 achieved twice by Jacques Plante (1955-56 and 1961-62) and once by Ken Dryden (1975-76). He led the NHL in wins, goals-against average (1.96) and save percentage (.933), and shared second place in shutouts (nine).

Year Player Team
2013 corey crawford / ray emery chicago blackhawks
2012 Brian Elliott/Jaroslav Halak St. Louis Blues
2011 Roberto Luongo/Cory Schneider Vancouver Canucks
2010 Martin Brodeur New Jersey Devils
2009 Tim Thomas/Manny Fernandez Boston Bruins
2008 Dominik Hasek/Chris Osgood Detroit Red Wings
2007 Niklas Backstrom/Manny Fernandez Minnesota Wild
2006 Miikka Kiprusoff Calgary Flames
2004 Martin Brodeur New Jersey Devils
2003 Martin Brodeur New Jersey Devils
  Roman Cechmanek/Robert Esche Philadelphia Flyers
2002 Patrick Roy Colorado Avalanche
2001 Dominik Hasek Buffalo Sabres
2000 Roman Turek St. Louis Blues
1999 Ed Belfour/Roman Turek Dallas Stars
1998 Martin Brodeur New Jersey Devils
1997 Martin Brodeur/Mike Dunham New Jersey Devils
1996 Chris Osgood/Mike Vernon Detroit Red Wings
1995 Ed Belfour Chicago Blackhawks
1994 Dominik Hasek/Grant Fuhr Buffalo Sabres
1993 Ed Belfour Chicago Blackhawks
1992 Patrick Roy Montreal Canadiens
1991 Ed Belfour Chicago Blackhawks
1990 Andy Moog/Rejean Lemelin Boston Bruins
1989 Patrick Roy/Brian Hayward Montreal Canadiens
1988 Patrick Roy/Brian Hayward Montreal Canadiens
1987 Patrick Roy/Brian Hayward Montreal Canadiens
1986 Bob Froese/Darren Jensen Philadelphia Flyers
1985 Tom Barrasso/Bob Sauve Buffalo Sabres
1984 Al Jensen/Pat Riggin Washington Capitals
1983 Roland Melanson/Billy Smith New York Islanders
1982 Rick Wamsley/Denis Herron Montreal Canadiens