Class Action Settlement for NHL GameCenter LIVE and NHL Center Ice Purchasers Means Special Benefits Available – Click Here to Find Out More
FOUNDATION | Jennings | Rocket | Ross | PRESIDENTS' | Wales | campbell | conn smythe | stanley cup

Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy

The Bill Masterton Memorial Trophy is an annual award under the trusteeship of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association and is given to the National Hockey League player who best exemplifies the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship, and dedication to hockey.

The winner is selected in a poll of all chapters of the PHWA at the end of the regular season.

A grant from the PHWA is awarded annually to the Bill Masterton Scholarship Fund, based in Bloomington, Minn., in the name of the Masterton Trophy winner.

2015 WInner
Devan Dubnyk
Devan Dubnyk
Goalie - MIN
RECORD: 36-14-4
GAA: 2.07 | SVP: .929
The trophy was presented by the NHL Writers' Association in 1968 to commemorate the late William Masterton, a player for the Minnesota North Stars, who exhibited, to a high degree, the qualities of perseverance, sportsmanship and dedication to hockey. Masterton died on Jan. 15, 1968, after an injury sustained during a game.

It was first awarded following the 1967–68 regular season. Players from the Montreal Candiens have won five times, while the New York Rangers and Boston Bruins have won four.

Year Player Team
2013 josh harding minnesota wild
2012 Max Pacioretty Montreal Canadiens
2011 Ian Laperriere Philadelphia Flyers
2010 Jose Theodore Washington Capitals
2009 Steve Sullivan Nashville Predators
2008 Jason Blake Toronto Maple Leafs
2007 Phil Kessel Boston Bruins
2006 Teemu Selanne Anaheim Ducks
2004 Bryan Berard Chicago Blackhawks
2003 Steve Yzerman Detroit Red Wings
2002 Saku Koivu Montreal Canadiens
2001 Adam Graves New York Rangers
2000 Ken Daneyko New Jersey Devils
1999 John Cullen Tampa Bay Lightning
1998 Jamie McLennan St. Louis Blues
1997 Tony Granato San Jose Sharks
1996 Gary Roberts Calgary Flames
1995 Pat LaFontaine Buffalo Sabres
1994 Cam Neely Boston Bruins
1993 Mario Lemieux Pittsburgh Penguins
1992 Mark Fitzpatrick New York Islanders
1991 Dave Taylor Los Angeles Kings
1990 Gord Kluzak Boston Bruins
1989 Tim Kerr Philadelphia Flyers
1988 Bob Bourne Los Angeles Kings
1987 Doug Jarvis Hartford Whalers
1986 Charlie Simmer Boston Bruins
1985 Anders Hedberg New York Rangers
1984 Brad Park Detroit Red Wings
1983 Lanny McDonald Calgary Flames
1982 Glenn Resch Colorado Rockies
1981 Blake Dunlop St. Louis Blues
1980 Al MacAdam Minnesota North Stars
1979 Serge Savard Montreal Canadiens
1978 Butch Goring Los Angeles Kings
1977 Ed Westfall New York Islanders
1976 Rod Gilbert New York Rangers
1975 Don Luce Buffalo Sabres
1974 Henri Richard Montreal Canadiens
1973 Lowell MacDonald Pittsburgh Penguins
1972 Bobby Clarke Philadelphia Flyers
1971 Jean Ratelle New York Rangers
1970 Pit Martin Chicago Blackhawks
1969 Ted Hampson Oakland Seals
1968 Claude Provost Montreal Canadiens