FOUNDATION | Jennings | Rocket | Ross | PRESIDENTS' | Wales | campbell | conn smythe | stanley cup

Jack Adams Award

The Jack Adams Award is an annual award presented by the National Hockey League Broadcasters' Association to the NHL coach adjudged to have contributed the most to his team's success. The winner is selected in a poll among members of the NHL Broadcasters' Association at the end of the regular season.

The award was presented by the NHL Broadcasters' Association in 1974 to commemorate the late Jack Adams, former coach and general manager of the Detroit Red Wings. His lifetime dedication to hockey has served as an inspiration to all who aspire to further the game.

Jacques Demers is the only coach who has won the award in consecutive seasons. Four coaches in history have won the award with two different teams. Jacques Lemaire, Pat Quinn, and Scotty Bowman have won the award twice, while Pat Burns is the only coach to win the Jack Adams Award three times.

The franchises with the most Jack Adams Award winners are the Philadelphia Flyers, Detroit Red Wings and St. Louis Blues with four.

Bill Barber, Bruce Boudreau and Ken Hitchcock are the only men to win the award after replacing the coach who started the season. Barber took over for Craig Ramsay during the 2000–01 season, while Boudreau replaced Glen Hanlon a month into the 2007–08 season and Hitchcock won after replacing Davis Payne 13 games into the 2011-12 season.

The closest vote ever occurred in 2006, when the winner Lindy Ruff edged out Peter Laviolette by a single point.

Past Recipients
Year Coach Team
2015 Bob Hartley Calgary Flames
2013 Paul MacLean ottawa Senators
2012 Ken hitchcock st. louis blues
2011 Dan Bylsma Pittsburgh Penguins
2010 Dave Tippett Phoenix Coyotes
2009 Claude Julien Boston Bruins
 2008   Bruce Boudreau  Washington Capitals
2007 Alain Vigneault Vancouver Canucks
2006 Lindy Ruff Buffalo Sabres
2004 John Tortorella Tampa Bay Lightning
2003 Jacques Lemaire Minnesota Wild
2002 Bob Francis Phoenix Coyotes
2001 Bill Barber Philadelphia Flyers
2000 Joel Quenneville St. Louis Blues
1999 Jacques Martin Ottawa Senators
1998 Pat Burns Boston Bruins
1997 Ted Nolan Buffalo Sabres
1996 Scotty Bowman Detroit Red Wings
1995 Marc Crawford Quebec Nordiques
1994 Jacques Lemaire New Jersey Devils
1993 Pat Burns Toronto Maple Leafs
1992 Pat Quinn Vancouver Canucks
1991 Brian Sutter St. Louis Blues
1990 Bob Murdoch Winnipeg Jets
1989 Pat Burns Montreal Canadiens
1988 Jacques Demers Detroit Red Wings
1987 Jacques Demers Detroit Red Wings
1986 Glen Sather Edmonton Oilers
1985 Mike Keenan Philadelphia Flyers
1984 Bryan Murray Washington Capitals
1983 Orval Tessier Chicago Black Hawks
1982 Tom Watt Winnipeg Jets
1981 Gordon "Red" Berenson St. Louis Blues
1980 Pat Quinn Philadelphia Flyers
1979 Al Arbour New York Islanders
1978 Bobby Kromm Detroit Red Wings
1977 Scotty Bowman Montreal Canadiens
1976 Don Cherry Boston Bruins
1975 Bob Pulford Los Angeles Kings
1974 Fred Shero Philadelphia Flyers


NHL GameCenter LIVE™ is now NHL.TV™.
Watch out-of-market games and replays with an all new redesigned media player, mobile and connected device apps.


NHL Mobile App

Introducing the new official NHL App, available for iPhone, iPad and Android smartphones and tablets. A host of new features and improved functionality are available across all platforms, including a redesigned league-wide scoreboard, expanded news coverage, searchable video highlights, individual team experiences* and more. The new NHL App on your tablet also introduces new offerings such as 60fps video, Multitasking** and Picture-in-Picture.

*Available only for smartphones
** Available only for suported iPads