The Stanley Cup (French: La Coupe Stanley) is an ice hockey club trophy, awarded annually to the National Hockey League (NHL) playoffs champion. The Stanley Cup, topped with a copy of the original bowl, is made of silver and nickel alloy. It has the name of the winning players, coaches, management, and club staff engraved on its chalice each year. The Cup winning team also gets to keep the Cup until a new champion is crowned the following year.
It all started on March 18, 1892, at a dinner of the Ottawa Amateur Athletic Association. Lord Kilcoursie, a player on the Ottawa Rebels hockey club from Government House, delivered the following message on behalf of Lord Stanley, the Earl of Preston and Governor General of Canada -- "I have for some time been thinking that it would be a good thing if there were a challenge cup which should be held from year to year by the champion hockey team in the Dominion (of Canada). There does not appear to be any such outward sign of a championship at present, and considering the general interest which matches now elicit, and the importance of having the game played fairly and under rules generally recognized, I am willing to give a cup which shall be held from year to year by the winning team." -- Shortly thereafter, Lord Stanley purchased a silver cup measuring 7.5 inches high by 11.5 inches across for the sum of 10 guineas (approximately $50); appointed two Ottawa gentlemen, Sheriff John Sweetland and Philip D. Ross, as trustees of that cup. The first winner of the Stanley Cup was the Montreal Amateur Athletic Association (AAA) hockey club, champions of the Amateur Hockey Association of Canada for 1893. Ironically, Lord Stanley never witnessed a championship game nor attended a presentation of his trophy, having returned to his native England in the midst of the 1893 season. Nevertheless, the quest for his trophy has become one of the worlds most prestigious sporting competitions.
2014-2015: Blackhawks Lightning
2013-2014: Kings Rangers
2012-2013: Blackhawks Bruins
2011-2012: Kings Devils
2010-2011: Bruins Canucks
2009-2010: Blackhawks Flyers
2008-2009: Penguins Red Wings
2007-2008: Red Wings Penguins
2006-2007: Ducks Senators
2005-2006: Hurricanes Oilers
2003-2004: Lightning Blues
2002-2003: Devils Ducks
2001-2002: Red Wings Hurricanes
2000-2001: Avalanche Devils
1999-2000: Devils Stars
1998-1999: Stars Sabres
1997-1998: Red Wings Capitals
1996-1997: Red Wings Flyers
1995-1996: Avalanche Panthers
1994-1995: Devils Red Wings
1993-1994: Rangers Canucks
1992-1993: Canadiens Kings
1991-1992: Penguins Blackhawks
1990-1991: Penguins North Stars
1989-1990: Oilers Bruins
1988-1989: Flames Canadiens
1987-1988: Oilers Bruins
1986-1987: Oilers Flyers
1985-1986: Canadiens Flames
1984-1985: Oilers Flyers
1983-1984: Oilers Islanders
1982-1983: Islanders Oilers
1981-1982: Islanders Canucks
1980-1981: Islanders North Stars
1979-1980: Islanders Flyers
1978-1979: Canadiens Rangers
1977-1978: Canadiens Bruins
1976-1977: Canadiens Bruins
1975-1976: Canadiens Flyers
1974-1975: Flyers Sabres
1973-1974: Flyers Bruins
1972-1973: Canadiens Blackhawks
1971-1972: Bruins Rangers
1970-1971: Canadiens Blackhawks
1969-1970: Bruins Blues
1968-1969: Canadiens Blues
1967-1968: Canadiens Blues
1966-1967: Maple Leafs Canadiens
1965-1966: Canadiens Red Wings
1964-1965: Canadiens Blackhawks
1963-1964: Maple Leafs Red Wings
1962-1963: Maple Leafs Red Wings
1961-1962: Maple Leafs Blackhawks
1960-1961: Blackhawks Red Wings
1959-1960: Canadiens Maple Leafs
1958-1959: Canadiens Maple Leafs
1957-1958: Canadiens Bruins
1956-1957: Canadiens Bruins
1955-1956: Canadiens Red Wings
1954-1955: Red Wings Canadiens
1953-1954: Red Wings Canadiens
1952-1953: Canadiens Bruins
1951-1952: Red Wings Canadiens
1950-1951: Maple Leafs Canadiens
1949-1950: Red Wings Rangers
1948-1949: Maple Leafs Red Wings
1947-1948: Maple Leafs Red Wings
1946-1947: Maple Leafs Canadiens
1945-1946: Canadiens Bruins
1944-1945: Maple Leafs Red Wings
1943-1944: Canadiens Blackhawks
1942-1943: Red Wings Bruins
1941-1942: Maple Leafs Red Wings
1940-1941: Bruins Red Wings
1939-1940: Rangers Maple Leafs
1938-1939: Bruins Maple Leafs
1937-1938: Blackhawks Maple Leafs
1936-1937: Red Wings Rangers
1935-1936: Red Wings Maple Leafs
1933-1934: Blackhawks Red Wings
1932-1933: Rangers Maple Leafs
1931-1932: Maple Leafs Rangers
1930-1931: Canadiens Blackhawks
1929-1930: Canadiens Bruins
1928-1929: Bruins Rangers
1927-1928: Rangers Maroons
1926-1927: Senators Bruins
1925-1926: Maroons Cougars
1924-1925: Cougars Canadiens
1923-1924: Canadiens Cal. Tigers
1922-1923: Senators Edm. Eskimos
1921-1922: Saint Patricks Van. Millionaires
1920-1921: Senators Van. Millionaires
1919-1920: Senators Sea. Metropolitans
1917-1918: Arenas Van. Millionaires