FOUNDATION | Jennings | Rocket | Ross | PRESIDENTS' | Wales | campbell | conn smythe | stanley cup

Calder Memorial Trophy

The Calder Memorial Trophy is an annual award given to the player selected as the most proficient in his first year of competition in the National Hockey League. The winner is selected in a poll of the Professional Hockey Writers' Association at the end of the regular season and each individual voter ranks their top five candidates on a 10 -7-5-3-1 points system. Three finalists are named and the trophy is awarded at the NHL Awards ceremony after the playoffs.

From 1936-37 until his death in 1943, NHL President Frank Calder bought a trophy each year to be given permanently to the outstanding rookie. After Calder's death, the NHL presented the Calder Memorial Trophy in his memory and the trophy is to be kept in perpetuity.

In 1990, 31-year-old Sergei Makarov of the Calgary Flames became the oldest player to win the Calder. After that season, the rules for awarding the Calder were amended so that players are eligible only if they were 26 years old or younger by Sept. 15 of their rookie season.

To be eligible for the award, a player cannot have played more than 25 games in any single preceding season nor in six or more games in each of any two preceding seasons in any major professional league. Beginning in 1990-91, to be eligible for this award a player must not have attained his twenty-sixth birthday by September 15th of the season in which he is eligible. The latter fact was perhaps most prominent when in 1979–80, first-year phenom Wayne Gretzky was not eligible to win the Calder Trophy despite scoring 137 points (the previous rookie record at the time being 95), because he had played a full season in the World Hockey Association in 1978-79. The Toronto Maple Leafs lead all teams with nine players who've won the Calder.

Year Player Team
2013 jonathan huberdeau florida panthers
2012 gabriel landeskog colorado avalanche
2011 Jeff Skinner Carolina Hurricanes
2010 Tyler Myers Buffalo Sabres
2009 Steve Mason Columbus Blue Jackets
 2008  Patrick Kane  Chicago Blackhawks 
2007 Evgeni Malkin Pittsburgh Penguins
2006 Alexander Ovechkin Washington Capitals
2004 Andrew Raycroft Boston Bruins
2003 Barett Jackman St. Louis Blues
2002 Dany Heatley Atlanta Thrashers
2001 Evgeni Nabokov San Jose Sharks
2000 Scott Gomez New Jersey Devils
1999 Chris Drury Colorado Avalanche
1998 Sergei Samsonov Boston Bruins
1997 Bryan Berard New York Islanders
1996 Daniel Alfredsson Ottawa Senators
1995 Peter Forsberg Quebec Nordiques
1994 Martin Brodeur New Jersey Devils
1993 Teemu Selanne Winnipeg Jets
1992 Pavel Bure Vancouver Canucks
1991 Ed Belfour Chicago Blackhawks
1990 Sergei Makarov Calgary Flames
1989 Brian Leetch New York Rangers
1988 Joe Nieuwendyk Calgary Flames
1987 Luc Robitaille Los Angeles Kings
1986 Gary Suter Calgary Flames
1985 Mario Lemieux Pittsburgh Penguins
1984 Tom Barrasso Buffalo Sabres
1983 Steve Larmer Chicago Black Hawks
1982 Dale Hawerchuk Winnipeg Jets
1981 Peter Stastny Quebec Nordiques
1980 Ray Bourque Boston Bruins
1979 Bobby Smith Minnesota North Stars
1978 Mike Bossy New York Islanders
1977 Willi Plett Atlanta Flames
1976 Bryan Trottier New York Islanders
1975 Eric Vail Atlanta Flames
1974 Denis Potvin New York Islanders
1973 Steve Vickers New York Rangers
1972 Ken Dryden Montreal Canadiens
1971 Gilbert Perreault Buffalo Sabres
1970 Tony Esposito Chicago Black Hawks
1969 Danny Grant Minnesota North Stars
1968 Derek Sanderson Boston Bruins
1967 Bobby Orr Boston Bruins
1966 Brit Selby Toronto Maple Leafs
1965 Roger Crozier Detroit Red Wings
1964 Jacques Laperriere Montreal Canadiens
1963 Kent Douglas Toronto Maple Leafs
1962 Bobby Rousseau Montreal Canadiens
1961 Dave Keon Toronto Maple Leafs
1960 Bill Hay Chicago Black Hawks
1959 Ralph Backstrom Montreal Canadiens
1958 Frank Mahovlich Toronto Maple Leafs
1957 Larry Regan Boston Bruins
1956 Glenn Hall Detroit Red Wings
1955 Ed Litzenberger Chicago Black Hawks
1954 Camille Henry New York Rangers
1953 Lorne Worsley New York Rangers
1952 Bernie Geoffrion Montreal Canadiens
1951 Terry Sawchuk Detroit Red Wings
1950 Jack Gelineau Boston Bruins
1949 Pentti Lund New York Rangers
1948 Jim McFadden Detroit Red Wings
1947 Howie Meeker Toronto Maple Leafs
1946 Edgar Laprade New York Rangers
1945 Frank McCool Toronto Maple Leafs
1944 Gus Bodnar Toronto Maple Leafs
1943 Gaye Stewart Toronto Maple Leafs
1942 Grant Warwick New York Rangers
1941 Johnny Quilty Montreal Canadiens
1940 Kilby MacDonald New York Rangers
1939 Frank Brimsek Boston Bruins
1938 Cully Dahlstrom Chicago Black Hawks
1937 Syl Apps Toronto Maple Leafs
1936 Mike Karakas Chicago Black Hawks
1935 Dave Schriner New York Americans
1934 Russ Blinko Montreal Maroons
1933 Carl Voss Detroit Red Wings


NHL GameCenter LIVE™ is now NHL.TV™.
Watch out-of-market games and replays with an all new redesigned media player, mobile and connected device apps.


NHL Mobile App

Introducing the new official NHL App, available for iPhone, iPad and Android smartphones and tablets. A host of new features and improved functionality are available across all platforms, including a redesigned league-wide scoreboard, expanded news coverage, searchable video highlights, individual team experiences* and more. The new NHL App on your tablet also introduces new offerings such as 60fps video, Multitasking** and Picture-in-Picture.

*Available only for smartphones
** Available only for suported iPads