We have updated our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. By continuing to use the NHL’s online services, you agree to these updated documents and to the arbitration of disputes.
Sign in with your NHL account:
  • Submit
  • Or
  • Sign in with Google
 
SHARE
Posted On Thursday, 03.27.2014 / 7:41 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

LA @ PIT - 15:23 of the First Period

At 15:23 of the first period in the Los Angeles Kings/Pittsburgh Penguins game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Jeff Carter's stick was below the level of the crossbar when he deflected the puck into the net. According to Rule 38.4 (vi) "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick in relation to the crossbar. If the puck makes contact with the portion of the stick that is at or below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed." Good goal Los Angeles.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 03.25.2014 / 10:42 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

DAL @ CHI - 19:01 of the Third Period

At 19:01 of the third period of the Dallas Stars/Chicago Blackhawks game, the Toronto Situation Room initiated a review because the puck went into the Dallas net. Video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that Brandon Bollig deflected the puck with his stick above the cross bar into the net. According to Rule 80.3 "When an attacking player causes the puck to enter the opponent's goal by contacting the puck above the height of the crossbar, either directly or deflected off any player or official, the goal shall not be allowed." No goal Chicago.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 03.25.2014 / 9:50 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

DET @ CBJ - 6:58 of the Third Period

At 6:58 of the third period in the Detroit Red Wings/Columbus Blue Jackets game, the NHL Situation Room initiated a review because the puck crossed the Red Wings goal line. The referee determined that the puck crossed the goal line and that Red Wings defenseman Brendan Smith pushed Blue Jackets forward Cam Atkinson into the net causing the goal post to be dislodged.

According to rule 63.6 "In the event that the goal post is displaced, either deliberately or accidentally, prior to the puck crossing the normal positions of the goal posts, the referee may award a goal. In order to award a goal in this situation, the goal post must have been displaced by the actions of a defending player, the puck must have been shot (or the player must be in the act of shooting) at the goal prior to the goal post being displaced, and it must be determined that the puck would have entered the net between the normal position of the goal posts. The goal frame is considered to be displaced if either or both goal pegs are no longer in their respective holes in the ice, or the net has come completely off one or both pegs, prior to or as the puck enters the goal." This is not a reviewable call. Good goal Columbus.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 03.25.2014 / 9:06 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

DET @ CBJ - 10:58 of the Second Period

At 10:58 of the second period in the Detroit Red Wings/Columbus Blue Jackets game, video review upheld the referee's call on the ice that the puck deflected off Detroit's Gustav Nyquist's skate and then off Columbus forward Ryan Johanssen's skate and into the Blue Jackets net in a legal fashion. According to Rule 78.4 "if an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body, in any manner, the goal shall be allowed." Good Goal Detroit.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 03.25.2014 / 7:59 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

OTT @ FLA - 7:57 of the First Period

At 7:57 of the first period in the Ottawa Senators/Florida Panthers game, the NHL Situation Room initiated a video review because the puck crossed the Ottawa goal line. The referee determined that he had blown his whistle prior to the puck crossing the goal line. This is not a reviewable play therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - No Goal Florida.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 03.25.2014 / 7:35 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

PHX @ PIT - 5:34 of the First Period

At 5:34 of the first period in the Phoenix Coyotes/Pittsburgh Penguins game, the NHL Situation Room initiated a review to determine if Jussi Jokinen's shot at 8:09 of the first period crossed the goal line. Video Review conclusively determined that the puck had crossed the goal line. According to Rule 78.6 "When a team scores an apparent goal that is not seen by the on-ice officials and play continues, the play shall be reviewed by the Video Goal Judge at the next stoppage of play. If the goal is confirmed by video review, the clock (including penalty time clocks, if applicable) is re-set to the time the goal was scored. Good Goal Pittsburgh. The clock was reset to 8:09.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 03.24.2014 / 9:55 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

OTT @ TBL - 5:44 of the Third Period

At 5:44 of the third period in the Ottawa Senators/Tampa Bay Lightning game, video review supported the referee's group decision on the ice that Steven Stamkos' stick was below the crossbar when he deflected the puck into the Ottawa net. Initially, the referee closest to the net had waved off the goal, but after consultation with the other officials it was determined that Stamkos' stick was in fact below the level of the crossbar. Video review supported that group decision. According to Rule 38.4 (vi) "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick in relation to the crossbar. If the puck makes contact with the portion of the stick that is at or below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed." Good goal Tampa Bay.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 03.24.2014 / 8:13 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

LAK @ PHI - 4:34 of the Second Period

At 4:34 of the second period in the Los Angeles Kings/Philadelphia Flyers game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Vincent Lecavalier's shot at 2:45 of the second period hit post, crossbar, post and did not completely cross the goal line. No goal Philadelphia.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 03.22.2014 / 9:39 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

NYR @ NJD - 19:21 of the Third Period

At 19:21 of the third period in the New York Rangers/New Jersey Devils game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the New York net. The referee informed the Situation room that he blew his whistle to stop play when the puck was underneath New York goaltender Henrik Lundqvist's body in the crease. This is not a reviewable play, therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - No goal New Jersey.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 03.22.2014 / 5:15 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

FLA @ LAK - 3:07 of the Second Period

At 3:07 of the second period in the Florida Panthers/Los Angeles Kings game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Los Angeles net. Video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Tomas Fleischmann's shot did not cross the goal line. No goal Florida.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
First | Prev | 7 | 8 | 9 | 10 | 11 | 12 | 13-18 | Next | Last
Quote of the Day

This is a big year for us in a lot of ways. You can see Garth and management really trying to find that solution to get us into the playoffs and consistently have that. The pressure is great. You have to enjoy it. It just means there's a great opportunity ahead of you.

— Islanders captain John Tavares