Sign in with your NHL account:
  • Submit
  • Or
  • Sign in with Google
 
SHARE
Posted On Wednesday, 04.30.2014 / 10:36 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

MIN @ COL - 2:52 of the First Period

At 2:52 of the first period in the Minnesota Wild/Colorado Avalanche game, Colorado's Nick Holden shot the puck into the Minnesota net in a legal fashion. The in-zone referee initially waved his arms after the puck crossed the goal line as a reaction to a potential infraction for high-sticking the puck. The on-ice officials then huddled regarding the play to discuss if it was a good hockey goal and agreed the goal would stand. Good goal Colorado.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 04.29.2014 / 9:45 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

NYR @ PHI - 4:29 of the Third Period

At 4:29 of the third period in the New York Rangers/Philadelphia Flyers game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that New York's Brian Boyle used his right glove to bat the puck into the net. According to Rule 67.6, "a goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who bats or directs the puck with his hand into the net." No goal New York Rangers.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 04.29.2014 / 12:32 AM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

SJS @ LAK - 11:56 of the Third Period

At 11:56 of the third period in the San Jose Sharks/Los Angeles Kings game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the San Jose net. Video review confirmed the referee's call on the ice that the puck entered the net in a legal fashion. Good goal Los Angeles.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 04.27.2014 / 4:55 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

STL @ CHI - 16:19 of the Second Period

At 16:19 of the second period in the St. Louis Blues/Chicago Blackhawks game, the Situation Room initiated video review after the puck entered the Chicago net. The referee informed the Situation Room that he blew the whistle before the puck crossed the goal line. This is not a reviewable play, therefore the referee's call on the ice stands. No goal St. Louis.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Friday, 04.25.2014 / 11:10 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

DAL @ ANA - 7:46 of the First Period

At 7:46 of the first period in the Dallas Stars/Anaheim Ducks game, video review confirmed the referee's call on the ice that Shawn Horcoff's stick was above the height of the crossbar when it deflected the puck into the Anaheim net. According to Rule 60.5 "An apparent goal scored by an attacking player who strikes the puck with his stick carried above the height of the crossbar of the goal frame shall not be allowed." The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick. No goal Dallas.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Tuesday, 04.22.2014 / 8:23 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

TBL @ MTL - 4:32 of the Second Period

At 4:32 of the second period in the Tampa Bay Lightning/Montreal Canadiens game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Montreal net. The referee informed the Situation Room that he saw the puck completely cross the goal line. Video review confirmed that the puck entered the net in a legal fashion therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - good goal Tampa Bay.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Monday, 04.21.2014 / 9:42 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

COL @ MIN - 14:20 of the Third Period

At 14:20 of the third period in the Colorado Avalanche/Minnesota Wild game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Colorado net. Video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Nino Niederreiter's shot did not cross the goal line. No goal Minnesota.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 04.20.2014 / 4:52 PM

By NHL.com Staff -  /NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

DET @ BOS - 13:20 of the Second Period

At 13:20 of the second period in the Red Wings/Bruins game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Darren Helm's shot deflected off Luke Glendening's glove and into the Boston net in a legal fashion. According to Rule 78.4 "if an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body, in any manner, the goal shall be allowed." Good goal Detroit.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Comment › |Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 04.19.2014 / 9:58 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

MIN @ COL - 4:18 of the First Period

At 4:18 of the first period in the Minnesota Wild/Colorado Avalanche game, video review confirmed the referee's call on the ice that Mikko Koivu's pass deflected off of Charlie Coyle and into the net in a legal fashion, crossing the goal line while the net remained in proper position. According to Rule 78.4 "if an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body, in any manner, the goal shall be allowed." Good Goal Minnesota.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Sunday, 04.13.2014 / 8:41 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

COL @ ANA - 12:11 of the First Period

At 12:11 of the first period in the Colorado Avalanche/Anaheim Ducks game, video review determined that Avalanche skater Brad Malone's original shot entered the Anaheim net prior to the second attempt that saw him push goaltender John Gibson's pad resulting in the referee's signal of no goal. Because the initial shot completely crossed the goal line, the goal stands. Good goal Colorado.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
First | Prev | 1 | 2 | 3 | 4 | 5 | 6 | 7-12 | Next | Last
Quote of the Day

I just wanted to do something to take my mind off the shot and let me relax a little bit. It seemed like the fans liked it. I'm glad I was able to score.

— Oilers forward Taylor Hall on lifting his arms to fire up the crowd before his penalty shot
Winter Classic sweepstakes