Sign in with your NHL account:
  • Submit
  • Or
  • Sign in with Google
 
SHARE
Posted On Thursday, 02.27.2014 / 9:40 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

SJS @ PHI - 8:49 of the Third Period

At 8:49 of the third period in the Sharks/Flyers game, video review was inconclusive in determining whether Logan Couture's shot completely crossed the goal line. Therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - no goal San Jose.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 02.27.2014 / 9:02 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

CBJ @ NJ - 11:42 of the Second Period

Marian Gaborik's goal at 11:42 of the second period in the Blue Jackets/Devils game was scored in a legal fashion. Gaborik knocked the puck out of the air with his stick below the normal height of his shoulders, and subsequently shot the puck into the New Jersey net. According to rule 80.1, "Batting the puck above the normal height of the shoulders with a stick is prohibited." Since Gaborik regained possession of the puck before shooting it into the net, the height of his stick in relation to the crossbar is not a factor. Good goal Columbus.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 02.27.2014 / 8:31 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

SJS @ PHI - 10:12 of the Second Period

At 10:12 of the second period in the Sharks/Flyers game, video review confirmed the referee's call on the ice that Joe Pavelski's stick was at or below the level of the crossbar when it redirected the puck into the Philadelphia net. According to Rule 38.4 (vi) "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick in relation to the crossbar. If the puck makes contact with the portion of the stick that is at or below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed". Good goal San Jose.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 02.27.2014 / 8:18 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

DET @ OTT - 3:04 of the First Period

At 3:04 of the first period in the Red Wings/Senators game, video review confirmed the referee’s call on the ice that Bobby Ryan kicked the puck into the Detroit net. According to Rule 49.2 "A goal cannot be scored by an attacking player who uses a distinct kicking motion to propel the puck into the net." No goal Ottawa.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Thursday, 02.27.2014 / 8:12 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

CBJ @ NJ - 11:36 of the First Period

At 11:36 of the first period in the Blue Jackets/Devils game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Artem Anisimov's shot completely crossed the New Jersey goal line. Good goal Columbus.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Wednesday, 02.26.2014 / 11:52 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

LAK @ COL - 15:42 of the Second Period

At 15:42 of the second period in the Kings/Avalanche game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Nathan MacKinnon's shot rebounded off goaltender Martin Jones' pad before deflecting off Andre Benoit and into the Los Angeles net in a legal fashion. According to Rule 78.4 "if an attacking player has the puck deflect into the net, off his skate or body, in any manner, the goal shall be allowed." Good goal Colorado.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Wednesday, 02.26.2014 / 10:42 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

LAK @ COL - 10:44 of the First Period

At 10:44 of the first period in the Kings/Avalanche game, the Situation Room initiated a video review to further examine a play at the Los Angeles net. The referee informed the Situation Room that Colorado's Nick Holden made incidental contact with Los Angeles goaltender Martin Jones, preventing Jones from doing his job in the crease. This is not a reviewable play therefore the referee's call on the ice stands - no goal, no penalty.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Wednesday, 02.26.2014 / 9:00 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

BOS @ BUF - 11:01 of the Second Period

At 11:01 of the second period in the Bruins/Sabres game, video review supported the referee's call on the ice that Boston's Zdeno Chara shot the puck into the Buffalo net in a legal fashion. Good goal Boston.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 02.08.2014 / 10:30 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

COL @ NYI - 19:58 of the Third Period

At 19:58 of the third period in the Avalanche/Islanders game, the referees awarded a goal to Colorado after New York forward Thomas Vanek threw his stick at Paul Stasny, who possessed the puck in the neutral zone with New York's goalie removed from the net. According to rule 53.7, If, when the opposing goalkeeper has been removed, a member of the defending team, including the Coach or any non-playing person, throws or shoots any part of a stick or any other object or piece of equipment at the puck or puck carrier in the neutral or his own defending zone, thereby preventing the puck carrier from having a clear shot at an "open net", a goal shall be awarded to the attacking side." Good goal Colorado.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
Posted On Saturday, 02.08.2014 / 9:47 PM

NHL.com - 2013-2014 Situation Room blog

PHX @ DAL - 19:26 of the Second Period

At 19:26 of the second period in the Coyotes/Stars game, video review confirmed the referee's call on the ice that Valeri Nichushkin's stick was at or below the level of the crossbar when it deflected the puck into the Phoenix net. According to Rule 38.4 (vi) "The determining factor is where the puck makes contact with the stick in relation to the crossbar. If the puck makes contact with the portion of the stick that is at or below the level of the crossbar and enters the goal, this goal shall be allowed". Good goal Dallas.

Full Story ›|Email & Share Options ›|Print ›
First | Prev | 13 | 14 | 15 | 16 | 17 | 18 | 19-24 | Next | Last
Quote of the Day

I might have blacked out. I was pretty pumped.

— New Jersey Devils rookie goalie Keith Kinkaid on his first NHL win Friday against the Tampa Bay Lightning