We have updated our Terms of Service and Privacy Policy. By continuing to use the NHL’s online services, you agree to these updated documents and to the arbitration of disputes.
Sign in with your NHL account:
  • Submit
  • Or
  • Sign in with Google
 
SHARE

CBJ @ NJ - 11:42 of the Second Period

Thursday, 02.27.2014 / 9:02 PM
2013-2014 Situation Room blog
Share with your Friends


2013-2014 Situation Room blog
CBJ @ NJ - 11:42 of the Second Period

Marian Gaborik's goal at 11:42 of the second period in the Blue Jackets/Devils game was scored in a legal fashion. Gaborik knocked the puck out of the air with his stick below the normal height of his shoulders, and subsequently shot the puck into the New Jersey net. According to rule 80.1, "Batting the puck above the normal height of the shoulders with a stick is prohibited." Since Gaborik regained possession of the puck before shooting it into the net, the height of his stick in relation to the crossbar is not a factor. Good goal Columbus.

Quote of the Day

I feel that responsibility, I've felt it for the last two years. We core guys get a lot of minutes, we get a lot of opportunity out there. Our teammates, the organization and fans look to us to be the guys to put the puck in the net and to create momentum out there.

— Jordan Eberle on taking his game and the Edmonton Oilers to the next level