Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Minnesota Wild

Murphy An All-Star Again

by Staff Writer / Minnesota Wild


HOUSTON, Texas – Houston Aeros veteran defenseman Curtis Murphy will play for the Canadian AHL All-Stars at the 2007 Rbk Hockey AHL All-Star Classic, set for January 28-29 at Ricoh Coliseum in Toronto. Click here to view All-Star rosters.

Murphy, 31 (12/3/75), will play in his fifth AHL All-Star Classic in as many seasons in the league. No other AHL All-Star this season is participating in more than his third game. A three-time International Hockey League All-Star, Murphy has been selected to eight mid-season All-Star games in as many professional seasons in North America.

Murphy ranks tied for seventh in the AHL among defensemen with 21 points (5-16=21) in 38 games. He has played in 257 consecutive regular-season games, and in 495 of 496 since 2001-02. Murphy is a three-time First Team All-AHL selection, just the seventh defensemen in league history to accomplish that feat. Murphy, a two-time Eddie Shore winner as the AHL’s top defenseman, is the Aeros’ all-time leader in goals (54), assists (135) and points (189) from the blueline.

The 2007 Rbk Hockey AHL All-Star Classic will take place at Ricoh Coliseum in Toronto, home of the AHL’s Marlies. The event features the 2007 CCM AHL All-Star Skills Competition on Sunday, January 28 (7:00 ET) and the 2007 AHL All-Star Game on Monday, January 29 (7:00 ET), and will be televised live on Rogers Sportsnet in Canada and on a network of regional broadcast partners in the United States.

Of the 394 players to take part in the AHL All-Star Classic since 1995, more than 93 percent have competed in the National Hockey League, including Patrice Bergeron, Brad Boyes, Daniel Briere, Jonathan Cheechoo, Pavol Demitra, Rick DiPietro, Patrik Elias, Ray Emery, Miikka Kiprusoff, Kari Lehtonen, Ryan Miller, Dwayne Roloson, Marc Savard, Martin St. Louis, Jason Spezza, Eric Staal, Steve Sullivan and Kyle Wellwood.

View More