Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Minnesota Wild

3M Excellence In Coaching Winners Announced

by Staff Writer / Minnesota Wild

The National Hockey League’s (NHL) Minnesota Wild, in partnership with 3M, has announced the recipients of the 2009-10 3M Excellence in Coaching Awards. Coaches were nominated for their efforts and dedication to youth in their communities during 2009-10 and were honored at pregame ceremonies prior to select Wild games at Xcel Energy Center during the recently completed season.

The Wild and 3M also teamed up to award the Charlie Stryker 3M Coach of the Year honor to Kevin Smalley, Boys Hockey Coach from Duluth Denfeld, Jerry Hayes, Boys Hockey Coach from Apple Valley, Mitch Loch, Girls Hockey Coach from Alexandria, Tim Morris, Girls Hockey Coach from Eden Prairie.   Smalley, Hayes, Loch, and Morris were honored during a pregame ceremony at the March 31st Wild game. The award is named in honor of Charlie Stryker, a long-time hockey coach instrumental in the development of girl’s hockey at the high school level.

This is the eighth season that the Minnesota Wild has presented the 3M Excellence in Coaching Award, an award given to a boys' and girls' high school hockey coach from each section of both classes (A and AA) in the state during the season. The award honors coaches who display good sportsmanship, provide a positive youth sports experience, teach positive life skills and demonstrate respect for players and officials. Forms were sent to the Minnesota Boys' and Girls' High School Coaching Associations and coaches were nominated by their peers.

Nomination forms are distributed at the beginning of the high school hockey season by representatives of the Wild.

3M Excellence In Coaching Award Winners

1A Boys George Namanich Red Wing H.S.
1A Girls Fran Mcdevitt Winona Winhawks
1AA Boys Will Fish Owatonna H.S.
1AA Girls Amanda Reed Owatonna H.S.
2A Boys Les Larson Breck H.S.
2A Girls Nathan Fuller Mankato East
2AA Boys Curt Giles Edina H.S.
2AA Girls Laura Slominski Edina H.S.
3A Boys Chris Olson Litchfield H.S.
3A Girls Angie Zeig New Ulm
3AA Boys Jerry Hayes Apple Valley H.S.
3AA Girls Tracy Cassano Rosemount H.S.
4A Boys Jeff Poeschl Mahtomedi H.S.
4A Girls Evan Ziegler Minnehaha Acad.
4AA Boys Steve Romanchuk Tartan H.S.
4AA Girls Jeff Lanz Tartan H.S.
5A Boys Sherm Liimatainen
Moose Lake H.S.
5A Girls Bob Kuehl
5AA Boys Pete Aus
Blaine H.S.
5AA Girls Mark Domschot
Centennial H.S.
6A Boys Tony Couture
Little Falls H.S.
6A Girls No Nominee

6AA Boys Lee Smith
Eden Prairie H.S.
6AA Girls No Nominee

7A Boys Keith Hendrickson
7A Girls Stan Skelton
Babbitt-Embarrass H.S.
7AA Boys Mike Randolph
Duluth East
7AA Girls Richard Bartholdi
Cloquet H.S.
8A Boys Albert Hasbargen
Warroad H.S.
8A Girls David Marvin
Warroad H.S.
8AA Boys Dave Morinville
Moorhead H.S.
8AA Girls Jim MacFarlane
Moorhead H.S.
View More