Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Minnesota Wild

2008 Mr. Hockey Candidates Announced

by Staff Writer / Minnesota Wild
Annual Minutemen Mr. Hockey Award field set; Tickets for Banquet on Sale Now

SAINT PAUL/MINNEAPOLIS, Minn. -- The Minnesota Minutemen announced today the Top Ten Candidates for the 24th Annual Mr. Hockey Award. They are: Tyler Barnes (Burnsville High School), J. T. Brown (Rosemount High School), Cory Fienhage (Eastview High School), Jake Gardiner (Minnetonka High School), Joe Gleason (Edina High School), Justin Jokinen (Cloquet High School), Zack Lehrke (Park Rapids High School), Aaron Ness (Roseau High School), Drew Olson (Brainerd High School) and Jake Youso (International Falls High School).

The Minnesota Minutemen also announced today that Joe Phillippi of Hill-Murray School has won The Frank Brimsek Award in recognition of the state’s top senior goaltender. 

The 24th annual Mr. Hockey Awards Banquet will be held at 12:00 p.m. (noon) on Sunday, March 9 at the Grand Ballroom at RiverCentre (175 Kellogg Boulevard). The Boys State High School Hockey Tournament will be held at Xcel Energy Center, March 5-8. The Minnesota Wild and Acceleration Minnesota are co-sponsors of the Mr. Hockey Awards Banquet. The Mr. Hockey Award is hosted by The Minnesota Minutemen.

The Mr. Hockey Award is given to the outstanding senior high school hockey player in the state of Minnesota and is selected by a panel of National Hockey League Scouts, Division One coaches and selected media members from around the state. Ryan McDonagh from Cretin-Derham Hall was the 2007 Mr. Hockey Award recipient.  Three other awards will be presented at the banquet: The Frank Brimsek Award, The John Mariucci Award, given to the Class A and Class AA high school coaches of the year and The Cliff Thompson Award, presented to the “Old Timer Coach” of the year.

Previous Mr. Hockey Award winners are: Tom Chorske (1985), George Pelawa (1986), Kris Miller (1987), Larry Olimb (1988), Trent Klatt (1989), Joe Dziedzic (1990), Darby Hendrickson (1991), Brian Bonin (1992), Nick Checco (1993), Mike Crowley (1994), Erik Rasmussen (1995), Dave Spehar (1996), Aaron Miskovich (1997), John Pohl (1998), Jeff Taffe (1999), Paul Martin (2000), Marty Sertich (2001), Gino Guyer (2002), Nate Dey (2003), Tom Gorowski (2004), Brian Lee (2005) and David Fischer (2006).

To purchase tickets for the Mr. Hockey Awards Banquet, please contact Yvonne Feldkamp at (763) 422-9708 or  Individual tickets for the event are $25.00.
View More