Skip to main content
The Official Site of the San Jose Sharks

Thornton Leads All Western Conference Vote-Getters In COLD-fX / NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented By 2K Sports

by Staff Writer / San Jose Sharks
San Jose Sharks center Joe Thornton has assumed the lead among all Western Conference vote-getters with 448,651 votes in the COLD-fX/NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports. Anaheim Ducks defenseman Scott Niedermayer, the leader the previous three weeks, is second with 390,028 votes. To date, more than 17 million votes have been cast in the all-digital voting program.
The voting will determine the starting lineups for the 2007 NHL All-Star Game, which will be played on Wednesday, Jan. 24, in Dallas (8 p.m. ET, VERSUS, CBC, RDS, NASN, NHL Radio).   Fans can vote for six Eastern Conference All-Stars and six Western Conference All-Stars: three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender for each team. If a player is not listed on the ballot, a space is provided for write-in votes. The three forwards, two defensemen and one goaltender from each Conference receiving the most votes will comprise the starting lineups. Each of the 30 NHL Clubs has at least two representatives on the ballot.
Leading in votes among forwards are Thornton, Colorado Avalanche center Joe Sakic (313,819), and Thornton’s teammate, Patrick Marleau (300,921). Thornton’s linemate, Jonathan Cheechoo (275,927), is right behind Marleau in fourth place.  Niedermayer and Nicklas Lidstrom of the Detroit Red Wings (371,037) are the top defensemen. Roberto Luongo of the Vancouver Canucks leads all goaltenders in votes with 266,258.
Through Jan. 2, fans around the world can “CLICK TO VOTE” for the Eastern and Western Conference All-Star starters for the 2007 NHL All-Star Game on-line at, through Bell Canada cell phones and via, the official portal of the NHL in Canada.
The COLD-fX/NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports section on features an interactive ballot that showcases players with video clips, photos and virtual video game highlights created by 2K Sports.  Residents of the United States and Canada who vote will be able to register for a chance to win a trip for two to the 2007 NHL All-Star Game. As part of the sweepstakes, sponsored by COLD-fX, NHL great and 16-time All-Star Mark Messier will meet the winner and a guest at the NHL All-Star Game.
The 2007 NHL All-Star Celebration, hosted by the American Airlines Center in Dallas, will feature live national broadcasts of the Dodge Nitro/NHL SuperSkills event on Tuesday, Jan. 23, and the NHL All-Star Game on Wednesday, Jan. 24 on VERSUS in the United States and CBC and RDS in Canada starting at 8 p.m., ET. NASN, the NHL’s exclusive broadcast partner in Europe, will provide live coverage of the Dodge Nitro/NHL SuperSkills event and the NHL All-Star Game to more than 25 countries and territories in Europe. NHL RADIO on Westwood One will provide exclusive, national radio coverage in the United States and Canada, while Sirius Satellite Radio and XM Satellite Radio each will provide radio play-by-play coverage of the game.
COLD-fX/NHL All-Star Fan Balloting, Presented by 2K Sports
Western Conference
(as of 12/11/06)
Joe Thornton         San Jose 448,651
Joe Sakic            Colorado 313,819
Patrick Marleau      San Jose 300,921
Jonathan Cheechoo   San Jose 275,927
Jarome Iginla        Calgary 226,900
Martin Havlat        Chicago    211,974
Brenden Morrow       Dallas    198,732
Markus Naslund       Vancouver    197,821
Teemu Selanne        Anaheim    174,441
Henrik Sedin        Vancouver    160,313
Daniel Sedin         Vancouver    160,253
Mike Modano          Dallas    150,120
Paul Kariya          Nashville  111,492
Ryan Smyth           Edmonton     109,195
Petr Sykora          Edmonton   87,495
Pavel Datsyuk        Detroit 86,627
Brian Rolston        Minnesota    80,897
Marian Gaborik       Minnesota    79,788
Henrik Zetterberg    Detroit 79,699
Ales Hemsky         Edmonton    79,565
*Milan Michalek      San Jose 78,798
Rick Nash            Columbus    65,552
Andy McDonald        Anaheim    63,563
Milan Hejduk        Colorado    58,470
Steve Sullivan       Nashville    51,074
Pavol Demitra        Minnesota    50,850
Ladislav Nagy        Phoenix    50,147
Doug Weight          St. Louis 49,892
Shane Doan           Phoenix    48,834
Keith Tkachuk        St. Louis 43,066
Nikolai Zherdev      Columbus    41,999
Roberto Luongo       Vancouver    266,258
Marty Turco          Dallas    263,297
Miikka Kiprusoff    Calgary 241,102
J-S Giguere          Anaheim    155,151
Dwayne Roloson       Edmonton    143,894
*Vesa Toskala        San Jose 99,919
Nikolai Khabibulin   Chicago    87,827
Thomas Vokoun        Nashville    78,974
Manny Fernandez      Minnesota    63,460
Scott Niedermayer    Anaheim    390,028
Nicklas Lidstrom    Detroit    371,037
Chris Pronger        Anaheim    282,528
Scott Hannan        San Jose 276,862
Dion Phaneuf        Calgary    274,682
*Rory Fitzpatrick    Vancouver    269,048
Mattias Ohlund       Vancouver    188,511
Robyn Regehr        Calgary    153,230
John-Michael Liles   Colorado    151,985
Sergei Zubov        Dallas    143,302
Mathieu Schneider    Detroit    117,518
Rob Blake            Los Angeles 107,369
Lubomir Visnovsky Los Angeles 95,658
*write-in candidate
View More