Skip to main content
The Official Site of the San Jose Sharks

Seagate Players Of The Month

by San Jose Sharks Staff / San Jose Sharks

For the first time in franchise history, the entire San Jose Sharks team has been selected as the Seagate Technology “Sharks Player of the Month” for the month of March.  The award will be presented prior to tonight’s game against the Phoenix Coyotes.

 “In our process to determine the player of the month for March, it became apparent that there were multiple players who had outstanding performances,” said Sharks Executive Vice President and General Manager Doug Wilson“But ultimately, our tremendous success was the result of an entire team’s collective effort. I can’t express how proud I am of the boys, and our coaching, training and equipment staffs.”

On March 1, the Sharks were in third place in the Pacific Division (fifth in the Western Conference) with 78 points behind Anaheim (81 points) and Dallas (87 points). As of today, they have 104 points (three shy of the franchise record set last season) and sit ahead of Anaheim (96 points) and Dallas (92 points).
Over the course of the month of March, “The Boys” posted a record of 12-0-2, the most wins and points (earning 26 of a possible 28 points) in a single month in franchise history (the team can add to those numbers with a win today).
On March 28 at Anaheim, the Sharks capped their remarkable month with a 3-1 win over the defending Stanley Cup Champion Anaheim Ducks, giving them their third Pacific Division Championship banner and clinching no lower than the second seed in the Western Conference for the Stanley Cup Playoffs.
With four regular season games remaining, the Sharks are four wins shy of tying the franchise record for most wins in a season (51, 2006-07) after already breaking the franchise record for most road wins 27 (formerly 25, most recently in 2006-07)

Established in the 1996-97 season, the Seagate Technology “Sharks Player of the Month” program honors the Sharks player(s) who have contributed most to the team’s success each month. Seagate Technology will donate $2,500 on behalf of the player(s) to The Sharks Foundation. In addition, one player will be selected as the Seagate Technology “Sharks Player of the Year” at the conclusion of the season and Seagate Technology will donate $5,000 on his behalf to The Sharks Foundation. Seagate Technology has donated more than $260,000 to The Sharks Foundation since the program's inception.
“Seagate has made social responsibility one of the values that forms the foundation of our business and we take pride in the thousands of Seagate employees who convert our social responsibility beliefs into action,” said Bill Watkins, CEO, Seagate Technology.  “The more than 2,000 Bay Area employees of Seagate understand and appreciate the commitment of like-minded organizations such as The Sharks Foundation, whose programming platform touches lives throughout Santa Clara and Santa Cruz counties.  As a long-time partner of the team, we are proud to continue our support as they continue to offer timely and meaningful solutions for those in need.”
About Seagate Technology

Seagate invents, designs, and builds systems for the world to access and share digital content in all its forms. As the worldwide leader in hard disc drives and storage solutions, Seagate provides products for a wide-range of applications, including Enterprise, Desktop, Mobile Computing, Consumer Electronics and Branded Solutions. Seagate is the essential connection between people and content, providing award-winning products, customer support and reliability to meet the world’s growing demand for information storage. …visit us at



October 1997                       Bill Houlder

November 1997                  Marco Sturm

December 1997                  Mike Vernon

January 1998                       Mike Rathje

February 1998                     None – Olympics

March 1998                          Jeff Friesen


October 1998                       Marco Sturm

November 1998                  Jeff Friesen

December 1998                  Mike Ricci

January 1999                       Owen Nolan

February 1999                     Mike Vernon

March 1999                          Steve Shields

October 1999                       Owen Nolan,

                                                Steve Shields

November 1999                  Vincent Damphousse

December 1999                  Owen Nolan

January 2000                       Mike Ricci

February 2000                     Brad Stuart

March 2000                          Vincent Damphousse


October 2000                       Evgeni Nabokov

November 2000                  Vincent Damphousse

December 2000                  Evgeni Nabokov

January 2001                       Owen Nolan

February 2001                     Niklas Sundstrom

March 2001                          Mike Ricci

October 2001                       Vincent Damphousse
November 2001                  Evgeni Nabokov
December 2001                  Mike Ricci
January 2002                       Brad Stuart
February 2002                     Evgeni Nabokov
March 2002                          Scott Thornton

October 2002                       Vincent Damphousse
November 2002                  Patrick Marleau
December 2002                  Teemu Selanne
January 2003                       Owen Nolan
February 2003                     Scott Hannan
October 2003                       Scott Hannan

November 2003                  Vesa Toskala

December 2003                  Patrick Marleau

                                                Evgeni Nabokov

January 2004                       Mike Rathje

February 2004                     Marco Sturm

March 2004                          Jonathan Cheechoo


October 2005                       Kyle McLaren

November 2005                  Patrick Marleau

December 2005                  Joe Thornton

January 2006                       Jonathan Cheechoo

February 2006                     Vesa Toskala

March 2006                          Vesa Toskala

April 2006                             Joe Thornton

October 2006                       Milan Michalek

November 2006                  Evgeni Nabokov

                                                Vesa Toskala

December 2006                  Joe Thornton

January 2007                       Patrick Marleau

February 2007                     Joe Thornton

March 2007                          Evgeni Nabokov


October 2007                       Evgeni Nabokov

November 2007                  Joe Thornton

December 2007                  Evgeni Nabokov

January 2008                       Craig Rivet

February 2008                     Milan Michalek

March 2008                          The Entire Sharks Team

View More