Skip to main content
The Official Site of the San Jose Sharks

Monday Mailbag - 1/30/2012

by Patrick Hooper / San Jose Sharks

Here is The Daily Chomp's Monday Mailbag answering your questions sent in by Twitter (tweet @SanJoseSharks using #AskSJS), Facebook, or email.

Q: On Ferriero’s goal vs Calgary, did he close his glove on it? What's the rule on that...
- Stephane D.

TDC: On Tuesday, January 24 at Calgary, Benn Ferriero scored the only goal of the game in a 1-0 shutout win for the Sharks. It was midway through the third period that Ferriero found himself in the crease behind the goalie as a rebounding puck bounced above his head. In the scoring effort, Ferriero quickly grabbed the puck out the air and dropped it to the ice where he had the opportunity to shoot the puck in the defenseless net. It was a talented display of quick hand-eye coordination. Watch it again here:

Rule 67.2 of the NHL Rule Book answers the posed question

A player shall be permitted to catch the puck out of the air but must immediately place it or knock it down to the ice. If he catches it and skates with it, either to avoid a check or to gain a territorial advantage over his opponent, a minor penalty shall be assessed for “closing his hand on the puck”.

Q: If the Sharks had scored 2 (or more) goals on that 5-minute major, would the stat sheet show them being "2 for 1" on the power play? How is that calculated for Major penalties?
- Brian D.

TDC: On Monday, January 23 at Edmonton, Oilers forward Ales Hemsky was assessed a five minute major penalty for kneeing at 5:37 of the third period. Hemsky was also given a game misconduct, ejecting him from the game. Hemsky's teammate, Teemu Hartikainen, was sent to the box to serve the five minute penalty. According to NHL Rule 20.2, the Sharks were to skate with a man-advantage for the full duration of the five minute major. 

Although a major penalty does cause a team to be short-handed, the penalized player serving the major penalty does not leave the penalty bench when the opposing team scores. The player must wait for the entire major penalty to expire before he is permitted to exit the penalty bench.

Less than a minute in to the power play opportunity, forward Logan Couture's tip in would give the Sharks their first goal of the game and tie it up at one apiece. Watch the play here: 

The Sharks would fail to score again on the continued man advantage. On the official game summary report, San Jose went 1-2 on the five minute power play. 

The Sharks first statistical power play opportunity occured prior to Couture's goal. Once San Jose scored, a new opportunity began as they continued on the man advantage even after the goal. Having failed to score with the remainder of the power play, the Sharks were 1-2 for the entire five minute penalty.

Had the Sharks scored twice during the five minute power play, they would have finished 2-3 during that time span. So long as there is time remaining on the continued man-advantage, it will be statistically recorded as a new opportunity.  

Q: What do you do with all of the hats when there is a hat trick?
– Kristy C

It has been a hockey tradition that when a player scores a hat trick, fans throw their hats on the ice. When a player scores a hat trick and hats are thrown on the ice, those hats are collected and sorted. Most of the hats are then donated to charity. One of the most memorable hat tricks in San Jose was Mike Ricci’s hat trick on April 7, 2001. This happened to be fan appreciation night where fans entering the arena were given new hats. When Ricci scored his third goal of the night vs the Dallas Stars, hats started raining down on the ice.

View More