Skip to main content
The Official Site of the San Jose Sharks

Grier & Lemieux Look Ready To Return

by San Jose Sharks Staff / San Jose Sharks
The Sharks took another big step towards finding a completely healthy lineup when the morning skate revealed that Mike Grier and Claude Lemieux were returning to action. To make room on the roster, San Jose sent Jamie McGinn and Brad Staubitz to Worcester.

Grier is the type of player that teams absolutely need in the postseason and Lemeiux’s experience in winning numerous Stanley Cups is a reason he was brought out of retirement, so both stepping on the ice tonight will be a big boost for the Sharks.

Grier will team with Marcel Goc and Travis Moen on the Sharks third line.

“It should be a good defensive line,” said Todd McLellan.

Marleau took his turn on the ice with the rest of his team, but the Captain’s return will likely be delayed for at least one more game.

“It feels a lot better, maybe Thursday,” said Marleau. “I’m not thinking about it as much.”

Marleau noted he would like a few more games back in prime health before the second season kicks in, but will make do with what he has.

“It looks like two games is going to have to work,” said Marleau.

Also still skating and progressing are Ryane Clowe and Torrey Mitchell.

McLellan and his staff will have a tough time deciding on who is in and who is out when the Sharks are at full strength.

“I believe it’s a good problem,” said McLellan of the Sharks depth. “It’s a really good problem to have.”

Every season, NHL Home Ice host and Hockey Hall of Famer Phil Esposito takes time to recognize the best and the brightest of our great game by handing out his "Espo Awards".

This year's "Espo Awards" can be heard on Monday, April 13 from 3pm ET to 6pm ET on NHL Home Ice (XM 204, Sirius 208) and are hosted by Mike Ross and Phil Esposito. The Sharks have several players nominate and they are listed below in their categories.

Dick Irvin Award (Top Radio PxP)
Rick Jeanneret (Buffalo)
Chuck Kaiton (Carolina)
Mike Lange (Pittsburgh)
Peter Maher (Calgary)
Dan Rusanowsky (San Jose)

Chris Kontos Award (Breakout Player)
Zack Parise
Louis Eriksson
David Krejci
Scott Clemmensson
Devin Setoguchi

Donald Trump Trophy (Executive of the Year)
Scott Howson
Doug Wilson
Peter Chiarelli
Mike Gillis
Dale Tallon

Guy Lafleur Trophy (Comeback Player of the Year)
Patrick Elias
Michael Ryder
Martin Havlat
Patrick Marleau
Simon Gagne

Tony Esposito Award (Best Goalie)
Tim Thomas
Steve Mason
Mikka Kiprusoff
Evgeni Nabokov
Niklas Backstrom

Gordie Howe Trophy
Evgeni Malkin
Alexander Ovechkin
Sidney Crosby
Zack Parise
Evgeni Nabokov

View More