Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the San Jose Sharks

Brent Burns Named Finalist for 2017 Ted Lindsay Award

by San Jose Sharks @SanJoseSharks /

SAN JOSE, CA - The National Hockey League Players' Association announced today that San Jose Sharks (@SanJoseSharks) defenseman Brent Burns (@Burnzie88) has been selected as a finalist for the 2017 Ted Lindsay Award. Formerly known as the Lester B. Pearson Award, it is presented annually to the "most outstanding player" in the NHL as voted by fellow members of the National Hockey League Players' Association. Burns was nominated along with Edmonton's Connor McDavid and Pittsburgh's Sidney Crosby. 

Burns is also a finalist for the James Norris Memorial Trophy, presented annually to the defenseman who demonstrates throughout the season the greatest all-round ability in the position.

The winners of all the 2017 NHL Awards will be announced on June 21 in Las Vegas.

This season, Burns posted 76 points (29 goals, 47 assists) and a plus-19 rating in 82 games, which lead the Sharks in assists and points and tied for the team lead in goals. Overall, he ranked 9th in the NHL in points, and tied for 12th in assists. 

Amongst NHL defensemen, Burns finished first in points and goals, and was tied for 3rd in assists. His 29 goals scored is a Sharks franchise record for a defenseman in a single season, and ranks as the 18th highest single season total by a defenseman in NHL history. In addition, his 76 points broke his own Sharks franchise record for most points by a blueliner in a single season (set last year), as he became the first defenseman in the NHL since Brian Leetch (1995-96/96-97) to post back-to-back 75-points seasons. Furthermore, Burns led the NHL in shots on goal (320), becoming the first defenseman since Ray Bourque in 1994-95 to do so, and just the third blueliner (Bourque, Bobby Orr) to accomplish the feat since the NHL started tracking shots on goal in 1967-68. 

Burns was named the Sharks Foundation "Sharks Player of the Year" this season in a vote by Bay Area media. The defender was also named to his third NHL All-Star game this season and helped Team Canada win the gold medal at the 2016 World Cup of Hockey, held prior to the 2016-17 NHL regular season.

The Ted Lindsay Award was first handed out at the conclusion of the 1971-72 NHL season. It honors NHL Hall of Famer Ted Lindsay, an All-Star forward known for his skill, tenacity, leadership, and for his role in establishing the original NHL Players' Association. 

The 2017 NHL Awards™ marks the eighth time the League will honor the best hockey players in the world and top performances of the season in Las Vegas, and the first time that T-Mobile Arena will host the NHL Awards™. Other Las Vegas venues that have hosted include the Palms Hotel (2009-2011), Encore at Wynn Las Vegas (2012, 2014), MGM Grand (2015) and The Joint at the Hard Rock Hotel & Casino (2016). Encore at Wynn Las Vegas will serve as NHL® Headquarters during the 2017 NHL Awards™ & NHL Expansion Draft™.

View More