Skip to main content
The Official Site of the San Jose Sharks

Braun Added to 2012 U.S. Men's National Team

by Staff Writer / San Jose Sharks

Defenseman Justin Braun (Minneapolis, Minn./San Jose Sharks/Univ. of Massachusetts) has been added to the U.S. Men's National Team roster for the 2012 International Ice Hockey Federation Men's World Championship it was announced today by USA Hockey. The tournament is scheduled for May 4-20, 2012, in Helsinki, Finland and Stockholm, Sweden.

Braun will be making his first apperance as a member of a U.S. National Team.

The first 17 players for the U.S. Men's National Team were announced on April 11. Forwards Justin Abdelkader and Joey Crabb, defenseman Chris Butler and goaltenders John Curry and Jimmy Howard have been added since then. Team USA now has 12 forwards, seven defensemen and three goaltenders on its roster. The maximum roster size is 25, which includes three goaltenders and 22 forwards and defensemen.

NOTES: Nineteen of the 22 members of Team USA announced played U.S. college hockey ... FIve of the 22 players announced are products of USA Hockey's National Team Development Program, including Joey Crabb, Justin Faulk, Cam Fowler, Jimmy Howard and Jack Johnson ... Fourteen NHL teams are represented on the roster. The Anaheim Ducks, Carolina Hurricanes, Columbus Blue Jackets, Dallas Stars, Detroit Red Wings and Tampa Bay Lightning have two players apiece ... Scott Gordon is the head coach of the 2012 U.S. Men's National Team. Greg Cronin and David Quinn have been announced as assistant coaches ... The 2012 U.S. Men’s National Team is under the direction of the U.S. Men’s National Team Advisory Group, led by Jim Johannson, assistant executive director of hockey operations for USA Hockey. Other members include NHL general managers Stan Bowman (Chicago), Brian Burke (Toronto), Paul Holmgren (Philadelphia), Dean Lombardi (Los Angeles), David Poile (Nashville), Ray Shero (Pittsburgh) and Dale Tallon (Florida) and Pittsburgh Penguins pro scout Don Waddell ... USA Hockey's international council, chaired by Tony Rossi, vice president of USA Hockey, has oversight responsibilities for all U.S. national teams ... Sixteen teams will compete at 2012 IIHF Men's World Championship. There will be two groups of eight with one group playing in Helsinki, Finland and the other playing in Stockholm, Sweden. The semifinals and medal games will be conducted in Helsinski ... NBC Sports is scheduled to televise all Team USA games in the 2012 IIHF Men's World Championship. The complete television schedule is available here
View More