Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Buffalo Sabres


by Staff Writer / Buffalo Sabres
Ryan Miller (Getty Images

Buffalo Sabres netminder Ryan Miller was announced as one of three goaltenders heading to Vancouver this February to represent Team USA in the 2010 Olympics.

Miller will make his debut on the American roster along with Boston’s Tim Thomas and Los Angeles’ Jonathan Quick. Miller has been among the NHL’s elite this season, currently ranking in the top five in several categories including; wins (T5th/21), goals against average (3rd/2.05) and save percentage (.933/2nd).

Joining the Sabres’ goaltender are two natives of Western New York in Pat Kane and Brooks Orpik. Kane, who will serve as the team’s youngest member on the roster at the age of 21, is among the NHL’s scoring leaders with 45 points in the 2009-10 season.

Team USA will also feature three players with past Olympic experience. Chris Drury (2002, 2006), Brian Rafalski (2002, 2006) and Jamie Langenbrunner (1998) will again represent the United States.

"Our management group has worked hard to put together a group of players that will give us the best chance to win the gold medal in Vancouver and we feel like we've done that," said Brian Burke, general manager of Team USA. "We had some difficult decisions to make, but that's a credit to USA Hockey and depth of the player pool in our country."

"The Olympic hockey tournament in Vancouver will be like no other," said Dave Ogrean, executive director of USA Hockey. "We appreciate the hard work that has gone into putting this team together and know we have a terrific group of players to represent our country."

Also included on the roster are forwards, Zach Parise (Prior Lake, Minn./New Jersey Devils/17-25-42), and Paul Stastny (St. Louis, Mo./Colorado Avalanche/9-30--39), currently among the top three American point-getters in the National Hockey League.

In addition, five players that played for Team USA at the 2009 International Ice Hockey Federation World Championship -- forwards David Backes (Blaine, Minn./St. Louis Blues), Dustin Brown (Ithaca, N.Y./Los Angeles Kings) and Joe Pavelski (Plover, Wis./San Jose Sharks); and defensemen Jack Johnson (Ann Arbor, Mich./Los Angeles Kings) and Ryan Suter (Madison, Wis./Nashville Predators) -- will also skate for the 2010 U.S. Olympic Men's Ice Hockey Team.

The selection of the U.S. Olympic Men's Ice Hockey Team is subject to the approval of the United States Olympic Committee's Game Preparation Division.

For Team USA's full roster, click here. To view Team USA "by the numbers," click here.
Click here for a statistical look at members of Team USA.
To view Team USA bios, click here.

Team USA 2010 Olympic Winter Games Schedule
Feb. 16-28 • Vancouver, B.C.

Date Opponent

Time (Local/EST)

Tues., Feb. 16 Switzerland 12 p.m./3 p.m.
Thurs., Feb. 18 Norway 12 p.m./3 p.m.
Sun., Feb. 21 Canada 4:40 p.m./7:40 p.m.
Wed., Feb. 24 Quarterfinals TBD
Fri., Feb. 26 Semifinals TBD
Sun., Feb. 27 Bronze-Medal Game 7 p.m./10 p.m.
Mon., Feb. 28 Gold-Medal Game 12:15 p.m./3:15 p.m.

View More