Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Buffalo Sabres


by Staff Writer / Buffalo Sabres
The Buffalo Sabres Hall of Fame Selection Committee today announced the induction of Rick Jeanneret and Dale Hawerchuk into the Buffalo Sabres Hall of Fame. Jeanneret, the longest-tenured play-by-play announcer in NHL history, and Hawerchuk, a member of the Hockey Hall of Fame, were selected based on their outstanding contributions to the sport of hockey and the Buffalo Sabres organization.

The pair will officially be inducted as the 36th and 37th members of the Buffalo Sabres Hall of Fame during a ceremony before the team’s game against the Winnipeg Jets on November 8.

With his vast knowledge of the game and his unwavering enthusiasm for hockey, Jeanneret’s distinct voice has been synonymous with the Buffalo Sabres for four decades. He began his prolific career with the Sabres in the 1971-72 season as the club’s radio play-by-play announcer and served primarily in that role until 1995, when he would also begin calling the action for the team’s televised games. His memorable calls and player nicknames have become forever linked with Sabres history for generations of fans.

Jeanneret’s career officially began in 1963, when the St. Catharines, Ont. native filled in for the regular announcer at a Niagara Falls Flyers (Junior A) game. He went on to become the color analyst for one season before moving to the play-by-play position in 1965.

Jeanneret joins his longtime friend and colleague, Ted Darling, and his broadcast partner of over 10 years, Jim Lorentz, in the Sabres Hall of Fame. Darling, the original “Voice of the Sabres” was inducted in 1996 and Lorentz was a member of the 2010 class.
Hawerchuk, who was traded to the Sabres during the 1990 NHL Entry Draft, was a consistent force for the team for five seasons, averaging more than a point per game during his tenure with the club. He led the Sabres in scoring for three seasons (1990-91, 1991-92 and 1993-94). Hawerchuk led the team in assists in 1990-91 (58) and 1991-92 (75), and was the team’s overall leader in goals (35), assists (51) and points (86) in the 1993-94 season. His assists totals for the 1992-93 and 1991-92 seasons rank second and third, respectively, for most assists in a single season in team history.

Prior to his time with the Sabres, Hawerchuk played nine seasons with the Winnipeg Jets and won the 1982 Calder Memorial Trophy as the NHL’s Rookie of the Year. After the Sabres, he played for the St. Louis Blues and Philadelphia Flyers and eventually retired after 16 seasons in the NHL. Hawerchuk became the 23rd player to reach the 500-goal plateau in 1995-96 and the 31st player to record 1,000 points in 1990-91. During his career, the Toronto native amassed 518 goals, 891 assists and 1,409 points, placing him 10th on the career NHL points list at the time of his retirement.

Hawerchuk was inducted into the Hockey Hall of Fame in 2001.

The Sabres Hall of Fame Committee is comprised of Scott Bowman, Seymour Knox, Kevin Gavagan, Jim Lorentz, Michael Gilbert, John Murphy, Bucky Gleason, Wayne Redshaw, Bill Hajt, Jeff Russo, Ed Kilgore, Floyd Smith and its chairman, Robert Swados.

Buffalo Sabres Hall of Fame Members

Class of 1980
Frank Christie, Roger Crozier, George “Punch” Imlach

Class of 1982
Tim Horton, Fred T. Hunt

Class of 1986
David Forman, Don Luce, Craig Ramsay

Class of 1989
Richard Martin, Gilbert Perreault, Rene Robert

Class of 1994
Danny Gare

Class of 1995
Jim Schoenfeld, Robert O. Swados

Class of 1996
Ted Darling, Seymour H. Knox, III, Northrup R. Knox

Class of 1998
Jack Gatecliff, Larry Playfair

Class of 2000
Don Edwards, Bill Hajt, Wayne Redshaw, Robert “Rip” Simonick

Class of 2001
Jerry Korab, Mike Racicot, Mike Ramsey

Class of 2004
Mike Foligno, Dick Johnston, Pat LaFontaine, Rudy Migay, Robert E. Rich, Jr., George Strawbridge

Class of 2007
Phil Housley

Class of 2009
Dave Andreychuk, Milt Ellis

Class of 2010
Joe Crozier, Jim Lorentz

Class of 2011
Alexander Mogilny, Jim Kelley
View More