Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Buffalo Sabres


by Brian Wheeler / Buffalo Sabres
Beyond the Boards is written by the Buffalo Sabres Website Manager, Brian Wheeler. Joining the Sabres prior to the 2003-04 season, Wheeler is the main contact and content editor for He has worked in the NHL, NFL, AHL and NLL over the past 11 years.  Click here to send him an email.

Jaroslav Spacek (photo: Getty Images)
 Dec 31, 2007, 4:12 PM EST

Lindy Ruff stayed true to his word.  

On the eve of one of the most hyped games of the entire NHL season, Ruff announced his new captain and handed the reins of the team over to defenseman Jaroslav Spacek.

Spacek becomes the fourth captain this season, following in the footsteps of his defensive partner Brian Campbell (Dec.), fellow blueliner Toni Lydman (Nov.) and forward Jochen Hecht (Oct.).

"It's very well deserved on his part," said Ruff. "He's played very well.  He's played very hard.  Out of any guy on the team, he's having the most fun playing and is probably playing as hard - maybe harder - than anybody else.

"We've got guys that are playing hard, but he's really committed to playing hard hockey, from a physical standpoint to an offensive standpoint.  He's playing a tough game and you wouldn't want to play against him right now."


Listen to Spacek, Campbell and Ruff's interviews.

Jaroslav Spacek  
Lindy Ruff
Brian Campbell
Campbell couldn't agree more with Ruff's assessment.

"I've shared a lot of good moments with him this year and he's improved my game a ton.  I think we benefit by being paired together," said Campbell.  "He's a guy that's very well liked in the room and it's nice to see that for him."

An eight-year veteran of the National Hockey League, Spacek served as an alternate captain for Dec. but has never seen a "C" stitched on his sweater as a professional.  Because of that fact, the honor came as a little bit of a shock.

"It's just a letter, but sometime after you've finished your career, you can look back and say, 'Once, I had it on my jersey.'  It's a very nice feeling."

History of the Captaincy

Floyd Smith (1970-71)
Gerry Meehan (1971-74)
Jim Schoenfeld (1974-77)
Danny Gare (1977-82)

Gilbert Perreault (1982-87)
Lindy Ruff (1987-89)
Mike Foligno (1989-91)

Mike Ramsey (1991-92)
Pat LaFontaine (1992-97)
Alexander Mogilny * (11/01/93 - 4/29/94)
Micheal Peca
* - due to injury to LaFontaine

Stu Barnes (2001-03)
Miroslav Satan (October, 2003)
Chris Drury (November, 2003)
James Patrick (December, 2003)
JP Dumont (January, 2004)
Daniel Briere (February, 2004)
Chris Drury (March, 2004)
Daniel Briere (2005-2007)
Chris Drury (2005-2007)
Jochen Hecht (October, 2007)
Toni Lydman (November, 2007)
Brian Campbell (December, 2007)
Jaroslav Spacek (January, 2008)
To see more posts on the Beyond the Boards blog, visit its index page.
View More