Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Buffalo Sabres


by Staff Writer / Buffalo Sabres
Scotty Bowman (Photo: Buffalo Sabres)
The Buffalo Sabres today announced the rosters for the 2009 Scotty Bowman Showcase. The fifth annual Showcase will take place on Thursday, April 9 at HSBC Arena. The first game of the evening will begin at 6 p.m. between the junior teams from each city, followed by the seniors game at 8 p.m. The winner of the senior game will be awarded the Scotty Bowman Cup.

  2009 Bowman Cup Tickets

The event is named after former Buffalo Sabres coach Scotty Bowman, the winningest coach in NHL history. He will be on hand to present the Bowman Cup to the winner of the senior game.

For the second year in a row, the Music Is Art Foundation will sponsor a “Battle of the Bands.” Finalists (chosen WNY schools) will perform throughout the event front of a panel of music industry professionals, with one chosen as the Best High School Band in WNY. There will be a special area at the Zamboni end of the Arena for the bands to perform in. Each performance will be broadcast on the HD videoboard and throughout the Arena sound system.

The Music Is Art’s “Battle of the Bands” is the brainchild of the Goo Goo Dolls Robby Takac, who formed the Music Is Art Foundation to use the arts to engage youth in schools and community. For more information on music is art visit

Senior Forwards
Mike Benedict (St. Francis)
Nick Burns (Niagara Wheatfield)
Chris Covel (Sweet Home)
Nick Friol (Orchard Park)
Matt Owcarszyk (Buffalo Regals)
Greg Potter (Williamsville South)
Brett Rogers (Kenmore East)
Ryan Stouffer (Buffalo Jr. Sabres)
Jamie Vona (St. Francis)
Ryan Wagner (Canisius)
Ryan White (Buffalo Regals)

Senior Defensemen
Marc Benzino (St. Joe’s)
Mark Capenhurst (Williamsvillle North)
Nick Fronczak (Buffalo Jr. Sabres)
Kevin Hughes (Buffalo Regals)
Tyler Matecki (Buffalo Jr. Sabres)
Ray Struzik (Regals)
Chris Williams (Wheatfield Jr. B)

Senior Goalies

PJ Bluff (Kenmore East)
Andy Olson (Regals)
Eric Terapacki (Canisius)

Junior Forwards
Mark Arnone (Kenmore East)
Josh Baker (Frontier)
Nick Berst (Lancaster)
Joey Cantafio (Williamsville East)
Matt Clifford (Williamsville North)
David Evert (Niagara-Wheatfield)
Matt Grazen (Regals)
Sean Gregoire (Hamburg)
Justin Hussar (Lancaster)
Joe Johnson (Williamsville North)
Phil Lane (Buffalo Jr. Sabres)
Paul Steinig (Canisius)

Junior Defensemen

Trevor Clark (Williamsville South)
Collin Farrell (Hamburg)
Jake Ledyard (Clarence)
Jarrett McGraw (Lancaster)
Donny Frauenhofer (Williamsville East)
Michael Schreck (St. Joe’s)

Junior Goalies

Harrison Civin (Clarence)
Scott Diebold (St. Francis)
Brian Jones (Buffalo Jr. Sabres)
Senior Forwards
Marion Aschenbrier (Geneva Waterloo)
Riley Austin (BKEI)
Brett Barton (Maksymum Jr. B)
Patrick Finnell (Batavia)
Alex Garfield (Pittsford)
AJ Grabowski (Maksymum Jr. B)
Jeff Rhodes (Schroeder)
Dave Roberts (Brockport)
Greg Ryan (Greece Thunder)
Justin Scharfe (Maksymum Jr. B)
Patrick Sofia (Greece Thunder)
Ethan Witkop (Maksymum Jr. B)

Senior Defensemen

Joe Amico (Webster-Thomas)
Eric Gunderson (Greece Thunder)
Mason Hill (Webster-Thomas)
Matt Markowski (Gates Chili)
Mac Moyse (Gates Chili)
Jake Spadoni (Schroeder)

Senior Goalies

Richard Carlston (Fairport)
Brian Goff (Maksymum Jr. B)
Tyler Lariviere (Spencerport)

Junior Forwards

Ross Dinan (Geneva Waterloo)
Misha Domboy Johnson (Web. Thomas)
Rocky Gruttadauria (Spencerport)
Woody Hudson (McQuaid)
Vince Pettrone (Victor)
Kevin Rhodes (Schroeder)
Cory Spuck (Rush Henrietta)
Anthony Starnino (Aquinas)
James Sturnick (McQuaid)
Stu Wilson (Maksymum Jr. B)
Aaron Witzel (Pittsford)

Junior Defensemen
Taylor Carmola (Aquinas)
John Crean (Victor)
Matt George (Maksymum Jr. B)
Cam Gormel (Rochester)
Kevin Heacock (Spencerport)
Brad Viola (Schroeder)

Junior Goalies

Jason Carville (Gates-Chili)
Dan Hurlimann (Hilton)
Michael Catanzaro (Penfield)



View More