Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Detroit Red Wings

Wings' trio on state's list of nominees

by Bill Roose / Detroit Red Wings

DETROIT – This week the Michigan Sports Hall of Fame announced the final list of nominees for its 57th induction class, which includes three former Red Wings players.

For the first time in hall history, fans are able to have a say on who receives enshrinement. Fans can vote for candidates in two of the four categories: professional and college/amateur. The MSHOF election committee will also vote in the four categories, including coaches and media/contributor.

There are 10 candidates in the professional category, including former Wings defenseman Mark Howe and Chris Chelios, as well as center Mike Modano, who will be inducted into the USA Hockey Hall of Fame later this fall. Both Howe and Modano are Michigan natives.

The other pros are former Detroit Lions linemen Lomas Brown and Robert Porcher, Detroit Pistons bad boy Dennis Rodman, bowler Aleta Sill, international soccer star Alexi Lalas, NBA champion and Olympic gold medalist Steve Smith and 1990 Cy Young winner Bob Welch.

Voting is online at, and is open until Friday, Oct. 5.

“The Michigan Sports Hall of Fame is pleased to announce the list of nominees … and that public fan voting will be available for the first time,” said Scott Lesher, MSHOF chairman. “This new online process is an element of our mission of making the hall of fame more accessible to the public.”

The 57th class will be formally enshrined at a public ceremony in February.

There are 21 members of the Red Wings' organization in the MSHOF beginning with legendary coach Jack Adams, who was part of the inaugural class in 1955, along with boxer Joe Louis and baseball star Ty Cobb. Also in the hall are Gordie Howe (1957); Ted Lindsay (1966); Sid Abel (1967); Ebbie Goodfellow (1968); Terry Sawchuk (1974); James Norris (1976); Alex Delvecchio (1977); Bill Gadsby (1986); Budd Lynch (1994); Red Berenson and Bruce Martyn (1996); Red Kelly (1998); Scotty Bowman (1999); Jack Stewart (2000); Mike Ilitch (2004); Jimmy Devellano (2006); Norm Ullman and Steve Yzerman (2007); Marian Ilitch (2010); and Marcel Pronovost (2012) .

Follow Bill Roose on Twitter | @Bill_Roose

View More