Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Detroit Red Wings

Red Wings make eight cuts

by Bill Roose / Detroit Red Wings
DETROIT – Prior to Sunday’s preseason finale at Joe Louis Arena, the Red Wings assigned eight players to their AHL affiliate in Grand Rapids, though half of them will need to clear waivers before they can head to western Michigan.

Goalie Jordan Pearce, defensemen Travis Ehrhardt and Brian Lashoff, and forwards Gustav Nyquist, Brent Raedeke, Tomas Tatar, Landon Ferraro and Joakim Andersson were set to the Griffins on Sunday.

Meanwhile, defensemen Doug Janik and Garnet Exelby, forward Chris Conner and goalie Joey MacDonald will be placed on waivers Monday. Teams will have until Tuesday at 12 p.m. EDT to make a claim on one of the four players.

The Wings still have 25 players on the roster and must make two more cuts by Wednesday. Here are the remaining players left on the preseason roster:

Forwards (15)
Justin Abdelkader, Todd Bertuzzi, Fabian Brunnstrom, Danny Cleary, Pavel Datsyuk, Patrick Eaves, Cory Emmerton, Valtteri Filppula, Johan Franzen, Darren Helm, Tomas Holmstrom, Jiri Hudler, Ryan Johnson, Drew Miller, and Henrik Zetterberg.

Defensemen (8)
Mike Commodore, Jonathan Ericsson, Jakub Kindl, Niklas Kronwall, Nicklas Lidstrom, Logan Pyett, Brad Stuart, and Ian White.

Goalies (2)
Ty Conklin and Jimmy Howard.

Follow Bill Roose on Twitter | @RooseBill
View More