Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Detroit Red Wings

Holland named honorary captain for AHL All-Stars

by Staff Writer / Detroit Red Wings
SPRINGFIELD, Mass. -- Red Wings executive vice president and general manager Ken Holland was selected to be an honorary captain at the 2008 AHL All-Star Classic.

Holland, an AHL alumni and Binghamton Hockey Hall of Famer, will participate in the American Hockey League's classic weekend to be held January 27-28 at the Broome County Veterans Memorial Arena in Binghamton, N.Y.

Larry Pleau, general manager of the St. Louis Blues, was also named an honorary captain for the game.

Now in his 11th season with the Red Wings, Holland played nine professional seasons as a goaltender, including eight in the AHL and six in Binghamton. He was a Second Team AHL All-Star in 1981-82 and backstopped the Binghamton Whalers to the Calder Cup finals that spring, the city’s only appearance in the AHL’s championship series. Following two seasons playing with the Adirondack Red Wings, Holland joined Detroit’s scouting staff and has since become one of sports’ most successful general managers, capturing two Stanley Cups, three Presidents’ Trophies and seven division titles since taking over in 1997.

Holland (Canadian) and Pleau (PlanetUSA) will serve as the honorary team captains for the 2008 AHL All-Star Classic. Previous honorary captains have included Adam Oates, Steve Thomas, John Ferguson, Ab McDonald, Marcel Dionne, Dave Taylor, Adam Graves, Joe Kocur, Kevin Dineen, Gordie Clark, Lanny McDonald, Darryl Sittler, Don Cherry, Bill Dineen, Jim Craig and Al MacNeil.

The 2008 AHL All-Star Classic will take place at the Broome County Veterans Memorial Arena in Binghamton, home of the AHL’s Senators. The event features the 2008 AHL All-Star Skills Competition on Sunday, Jan. 27 and the 2008 AHL All-Star Game on Monday, Jan. 28, and will be televised live in the U.S. and Canada.

Of the 427 players to take part in the AHL All-Star Classic since 1995, more than 93 percent have competed in the National Hockey League, including Patrice Bergeron, Brad Boyes, Daniel Briere, Zdeno Chara, Jonathan Cheechoo, Pavol Demitra, Rick DiPietro, Patrik Elias, Ray Emery, Jiri Hudler, Miikka Kiprusoff, Kari Lehtonen, Ryan Miller, Martin St. Louis, Jason Spezza, Eric Staal and Steve Sullivan.

View More