Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Detroit Red Wings

Hasek, Yzerman honored with hall inductions

by Staff Writer / Detroit Red Wings
PRAGUE (CTK) -- Czech President Vaclav Klaus presented eight legendary ice hockey players with the president's golden honorary medal at a ceremony at Prague Castle today marking the 100th anniversary of Czech ice hockey.

Augustin Bubnik, Vladimir Zabrodsky, Jiri Holik, Vladimir Martinec, Jiri Hrdina, Vladimir Ruzicka, and Dominik Hasek received the decoration, along with Jaromir Jagr who was the only active player to have been awarded by Klaus.

Karel Gut, former successful hockey player, coach, official and hockey historian, received the presidential award in September 2007 on the occasion of his 80th birthday.

All the players who received the presidential award today, except Jiri Hrdina, were among the 41 ice hockey players, coaches and officials who entered the newly established Czech Ice Hockey Association's (CSLH) Hall of Fame on Tuesday.

Apart from the decorated players, the meeting was attended by three dozen former ice hockey players, hockey officials and people connected with hockey.

Klaus said that such large meetings were rare at Prague Castle.

"But people like you certainly deserve it," he said.

The celebrations of the centenary of Czech ice hockey culminated with the meeting at Prague Castle and according to CSLH president Tomas Kral, they were successful.

View More