Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Detroit Red Wings

DSBA names DeKeyser Rookie of the Year

by Kyle Kujawa / Detroit Red Wings
DETROIT – Detroit Red Wings defenseman Danny DeKeyser has been named the 2013-14 Red Wings Rookie of the Year by the Detroit Sports Broadcasters Association. DeKeyser, 24, skated in 65 games for Detroit during the 2013-14 season, registering 23 points (4-19-23), a plus-10 rating and 30 penalty minutes, while averaging 21:38 of ice time, second on the team to only Niklas Kronwall.

The Macomb, Mich., native signed with the Red Wings as an undrafted free agent on March 30, 2013, and went on to appear in 11 regular-season and two postseason games with the Red Wings in 2012-13. This season, he ranked among the NHL’s top rookie blueliners in points (8th), plus-minus (T4th) and ice time (2nd). He also placed third among all rookies, and second on Detroit overall, with 116 blocked shots.

“We had a lot of rookies in the lineup on a regular basis this season, so it’s a great honor to be recognized as Rookie of the Year by the Detroit Sports Broadcasters Association,” said DeKeyser. “Being able to play here in Detroit in front of my friends and family made this season very special, and it’s a privilege to be acknowledged by the DSBA with so many other worthy candidates who were able to help the team this year.”

Prior to turning professional, DeKeyser spent three seasons (2010-13) with the CCHA’s Western Michigan Broncos, logging 49 points (12-37-49) in 118 games. The 6-foot-3, 190-lb., blueliner was named to the NCAA Second All-American Team and CCHA First All-Star Team in 2013 after capturing the CCHA’s Best Defensive Defenseman for the second consecutive season. He was also honored as a freshman in 2011 on the CCHA All-Rookie Team and as a sophomore in 2012 on the CCHA Second All-Star Team after helping the Broncos to a conference championship. Following the conclusion of Detroit’s postseason run in 2013, he joined the AHL’s Grand Rapids Griffins during the 2013 Calder Cup Playoffs and helped the team capture their first-ever championship, logging one assist in six contests. He also represented his country for the first time this season at the 2014 IIHF World Championships in Minsk, Belarus, picking up two assists in eight games.

DeKeyser will be honored by the DSBA prior to a Red Wings home game during the 2014-15 season. The DSBA Red Wings Rookie of the Year Award dates back to the 1948-49 NHL season. Previous recipients of the award include current Red Wings Henrik Zetterberg, Pavel Datsyuk, Johan Franzen, Niklas Kronwall, Jimmy Howard, Jonathan Ericsson, Jakub Kindl and Gustav Nyquist.

Previous DSBA Red Wings Rookie of the Year Award Winners
2012-13 - Gustav Nyquist 1979-80 - Mike Foligno 1963-64 - Pit Martin
2011-12 - Cory Emmerton 1978-79 - Willie Huber 1962-63 - Doug Barkley
2010-11 - Jakub Kindl 1977-78 - Dale McCourt 1961-62 - Bruce MacGregor
2009-10 - Jimmy Howard 1976-77 - Jim Nahrgang 1960-61 - Hank Bassen
2008-09 - Jonathan Ericsson 1975-76 - Michel Bergeron 1959-60 - Murray Oliver
2007-08 - Derek Meech 1974-75 - Bill Lochead 1958-59 - Len Lunde
2006-07 - Jiri Hudler 1973-74 - Bill Hogaboam 1957-58 - Don Poile
2005-06 - Johan Franzen 1972-73 - Henry Boucha 1956-57 - Billy Dea
2004-05 - None awarded 1971-72 - Marcel Dionne 1955-56 - Glenn Hall
2003-04 - Niklas Kronwall 1970-71 - Tom Webster 1954-55 - None awarded
2002-03 - Henrik Zetterberg 1969-70 - Al Karlander 1953-54 - Bill Dineen
2001-02 - Pavel Datsyuk 1968-69 - Paul Popiel 1952-53 - Marcel Bonin
2000-01 - None awarded 1967-68 - Gary Jarrett/Roy Edwards 1951-52 - Glen Skov
1999-00 - Jiri Fischer 1966-67 - None awarded 1950-51 - Terry Sawchuk
1982-98 - None awarded 1965-66 - Bert Marshall 1949-50 - Steve Black
1980-81 - John Barrett 1964-65 - Roger Crozier 1948-49 - Max McNab

View More