Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the New York Rangers

Oscar Lindberg Named Winner of the 2015 Lars-Erik Sjoberg Award

by Staff Writer / New York Rangers

The New York Rangers announced today that Oscar Lindberg has been named the winner of the 2015 Lars-Erik Sjoberg Award, given to the top Rangers rookie in Training Camp as selected by the media.

Entering Wednesday’s contest, Lindberg, 23, has registered two goals and one assist for three points, along with a plus-two rating in four preseason games. Lindberg is tied for the team lead in goals and is tied for fourth on the team in points during the preseason.

Lindberg, who was acquired by the Rangers from the Coyotes in exchange for Ethan Werek on May 8, 2011, tallied 28 goals and 28 assists for 56 points in 75 games with the Hartford Wolf Pack of the American Hockey League (AHL) last season. He established AHL career-highs in goals, assists, points, power play goals (10), plus/minus rating (plus-seven), and shots on goal (214), and tied AHL career-highs in games played and game-winning goals (six). Lindberg tied for eighth in the AHL in goals, ranked ninth in shots on goal, and tied for ninth in power play goals in 2014-15. He registered a point in 16 of his last 19 regular season games (12 goals, eight assists over the span), and he tallied 16 points (three goals, 13 assists) in 15 playoff games with the Wolf Pack.

Since he joined the Wolf Pack and made his professional debut in North America at the start of the 2013-14 season, Lindberg has led the Wolf Pack in assists (54) and points (100), and has ranked second in goals (46). Lindberg appeared in one NHL game with the Rangers in 2014-15, making his NHL debut on Feb. 24, 2015 vs. Calgary.

The Skellefteå, Sweden native becomes the eighth Swedish-born player to receive the Lars-Erik Sjoberg Award, joining Peter Andersson (1992), Mattias Norstrom (1993 and 1994), Niklas Sundstrom (1995), Kim Johnsson (1999), Henrik Lundqvist (2005), Carl Hagelin (2011), and Jesper Fast (2013).

The Lars-Erik Sjoberg Award, which was first presented in 1988, honors the memory of Lars-Erik Sjoberg, who was the Rangers chief European scout for eight years. During his tenure with the Blueshirts, Sjoberg played a prominent role in the team’s decision to draft Europeans such as Tomas Sandstrom, Jan Erixon, and Ulf Dahlen. Prior to joining the Rangers as a scout, Sjoberg played five seasons with the Winnipeg Jets during their time in the World Hockey Association (WHA), and he also skated with Winnipeg in its inaugural NHL season in 1979-80.


1988 Mike Richter

1989 Troy Mallette

1990 Steven Rice

1991 Tony Amonte

1992 Peter Andersson

1993 Mattias Norstrom

1994 Mattias Norstrom

1995 Niklas Sundstrom

1996 Eric Cairns

1997 Marc Savard

1998 Manny Malhotra

1999 Kim Johnsson

2000 Filip Novak

2001 Dan Blackburn

2002 Jamie Lundmark

2003 Dominic Moore

2005 Henrik Lundqvist

2006 Nigel Dawes and Brandon Dubinsky

2007 Marc Staal

2008 Lauri Korpikoski

2009 Matt Gilroy

2010 Derek Stepan

2011 Carl Hagelin

2013 Jesper Fast

2014 Anthony Duclair

2015 Oscar Lindberg

View More