Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Rangers

Lundqvist a Lindsay Award finalist

by Staff Writer / New York Rangers

The National Hockey League Players’ Association (NHLPA) announced today that Henrik Lundqvist of the Rangers, Evgeni Malkin of the Pittsburgh Penguins and Steven Stamkos of the Tampa Bay Lightning have been selected as finalists for the 2011-12 Ted Lindsay Award. The Ted Lindsay Award is presented annually to the “Most Outstanding Player” in the NHL, as voted by fellow members of the NHLPA.

The Ted Lindsay Award is the only award voted on by the players themselves, carrying on the tradition established by the Lester B. Pearson Award since 1970-71. The Award honors Ted Lindsay, an All-Star forward known for his skill, tenacity, leadership, and for his role in establishing the original Players' Association.

The award was last won by a Rangers player when Jaromir Jagr captured it in 2005-06. The only other Rangers player who to win the award was Mark Messier in 1991-92.

This year’s group of finalists -– Lundqvist, Malkin and Stamkos –- ensures that there will be a first-time recipient named when the Ted Lindsay Award is presented at the 2012 NHL Awards in Las Vegas on June 20.

The following players are finalists for the 2012 Ted Lindsay Award (in alphabetical order):

Henrik Lundqvist received the ultimate compliment from his peers by being named a finalist for the 2012 Ted Lindsay Award. Jaromir Jagr is the last player to earn the honor, when it was still named the Lester B. Pearson Award back in 2005-06.

Henrik Lundqvist

A native of Are, Sweden, Lundqvist appeared in 62 games during the 2011-12 season, leading the Rangers to their best regular season record since 1993-94. He set career-best marks in save percentage (.930) and goals-against average (1.97), ranking fourth in both categories. Henrik also set a career-high in wins (39), finishing third in the category, and tied for third among goaltenders in shutouts (8).

He is the only goaltender in NHL history to record at least 30 wins in each of his first seven seasons. This is Henrik’s first nomination as a finalist for the Ted Lindsay Award. The four-time Vezina Trophy nominee would become just the third goaltender to receive the “Most Outstanding Player” award as voted on by the players, joining Mike Liut (1980-81) and Dominik Hasek (1996-97, 1997-98), and he is the first goaltender to be nominated since Roberto Luongo was a finalist (2006-07).

Evgeni Malkin

A native of  Magnitogorsk, Russia, Malkin appeared in 75 games for the Pittsburgh Penguins in the 2011-12 season. Evgeni led all NHL players in regular season scoring (109 points) to earn his second Art Ross Trophy (2008-09). He finished with more than 100 points in a season for the third time in his career, while finishing third in assists (59) and second in goals (a career-high 50).

He also led the league in shots (339) and tied for fourth in game-winning goals (9). This is Evgeni’s third nomination by his peers as a finalist for the “Most Outstanding Player” award (2007-08, 2008-09). The former Calder Trophy recipient (2006-07) would become the fourth Penguins player to receive the “Most Outstanding Player” award as voted on by the players, following Mario Lemieux (1985-86, 1987-88, 1992-93, 1995-96), Jaromir Jagr (1998-99, 1999-00, 2005-06) and Sidney Crosby (2006-07).

Steven Stamkos

A native of Markham, Ontario, Stamkos appeared in all 82 games in the 2011-12 season with the Tampa Bay Lightning, for the third consecutive season. For the second time in his young career, Steven led the league in goals (60) to earn the Maurice Richard Trophy, becoming only the 19th player in NHL history to record 60 goals in a season.

He also finished second in points (97), tied for first with Radim Vrbata for most game-winning goals (12), and scored the most overtime-winning goals (5) – an NHL record. This is Steven’s second consecutive nomination by his peers as a finalist for the Ted Lindsay Award (2010-11). He would become only the second member of the Lightning to receive the “Most Outstanding Player” award as voted on by the players, joining teammate Martin St. Louis (2003-04).

The NHLPA also launched the 2011-12 Ted Lindsay Award Contest today on Fans are encouraged to select the Ted Lindsay Award recipient, just like the players do. A random draw will take place following the 2012 NHL Awards in Las Vegas NV, to determine the Grand Prize winner, as well as the second and third-place finishers.

Fans and media are encouraged to visit for further information on the Ted Lindsay Award, finalist profiles and contest information.

View More