Skip to main content
The Official Site of the New York Rangers

Bure, Leetch Among NHL All-Star Vote Leaders

by Staff Writer / New York Rangers

Rangers forward Pavel Bure and defenseman Brian Leetch are among the leaders in the Eastern Conference All-Star voting for the 53rd NHL All-Star Game to be played on February 2 in Sunrise, Florida.

Goaltender Patrick Roy of the Colorado Avalanche, with 62,817 votes, leads all players in the NHL All-Star Fan Balloting program, the voting to determine the starting lineups for the 2003 NHL All-Star Game presented by Nextel.

Nikolai Khabibulin of the Tampa Bay Lightning is first among Eastern Conference goaltenders with 40,781 votes; Leetch (52,128) and Scott Stevens (40,901), New Jersey Devils lead all defensemen; Jaromir Jagr (45,706), Washington Capitals and Bure (34,111), top all wings; Mario Lemieux (58,682), Pittsburgh Penguins leads all centers.

Detroit Red Wing Nicklas Lidstrom (62,369), and Colorado Avalanche Rob Blake (54,134) are the Western Conference leaders among defensemen; Brett Hull (32,181) and Brendan Shanahan (31,275) of Detroit are the top vote-getters among Western Conference wings; and Roys Colorado teammate Joe Sakic (40,340) leads all Western Conference centers.

Circuit City is title sponsor of the NHL All-Star Fan Balloting program in the United States and on and 989 Sports® is presenting sponsor. McDonalds is title sponsor in Canada. Voting is being conducted in all 30 NHL arenas, via broadband kiosks at more than 600 Circuit City locations in the United States and on

The paper ballots in the United States will feature an exclusive Circuit City $5.00 coupon that consumers can use toward the purchase of 989 Sports NHL FaceOff 2003 at Circuit City locations. Fans also have the opportunity to enter the NHL All-Star Fan Balloting Sweepstakes, both online and via paper ballots, for the chance to win a PlayStation 2 computer entertainment system and a copy of NHL FaceOff 2003.

To vote for your favorite players, including Bure, Leetch, Eric Lindros and Mike Richter, click here!
View More