Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Nashville Predators

The Halifax Mooseheads Capture The 2013 MasterCard Memorial Cup

by Jimi Russell / Nashville Predators

The Halifax Moosheads captured their first MasterCard Memorial Cup on Sunday after defeating the Portland Winterhawks, 6-4.

The tournament favorite Mooseheads were Nathan MacKinnon and Jonathon Drouin, who are expected to be top draft selections in next month’s NHL Entry Draft. MacKinnon recorded a hat trick and added two assists in the final game and took home the Stafford Smythe Memorial Trophy as the tournament MVP and claimed the Ed Chynoweth Trophy as the tournament’s Top Scorer. Drouin, who was named the CCM CHL Player of the Year, also picked up five points (5a) on the night, tying a Memorial Cup record. Preds prospect Brent Andrews (seventh round/2011) tallied one goal in the tournament for the Mooseheads.

Portland was lead by Ty Rattie and Nicolas Petan, who both finished with a goal and three assists on the night. This year’s top prospect Seth Jones posted one goal in the championship game for the Hawks. Forward Brendan Leipsic (third round/2012) added a goal for Portland in the final game, and finished the tournament with three points (2g-1a). Leipsic, who signed an entry level contract with Nashville last Thursday, was named the Chrysler Dodge CHL Top Scorer of the Year after posting 49 goals and 71 assists in 68 regular-season games.

For more info on the 2013 MasterCard Memorial Cup, please visit

View More