Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Nashville Predators

Geoffrion Named Hobey Baker Finalist

by Staff Writer / Nashville Predators
Brentwood native one of 10 up for college hockey’s equivalent to the Heisman Trophy

On Thursday night, the 10 finalists for the 2010 Hobey Baker Award were announced. The annual award goes to the top NCAA hockey player. This year, half of the candidates come from the top three teams in the country. After another round of balloting, the Hobey Hat Trick of three finalists will be determined, with the results being released on March 31. The award winner will be announced during the Frozen Four at Ford Field in Detroit on April 9.

Trotz on Geoffrion
Fenton on Preds NCAA Prospects: Part 1 | Part 2
Predators prospect and Brentwood native Blake Geoffrion is one of the finalists for the Hobey. As captain of the University of Wisconsin, the 2006 second-round pick led the Badgers with 41 points (23g-18a). He ended his senior campaign ranked sixth in the nation in goals per game and fifth in power-play goals with 12. Last weekend in the opening round of the WCHA Playoffs, Geoffrion collected four points (2g-2a) in a pair of Badger wins.

His Wisconsin teammate, Brendan Smith, is the only defenseman among the finalists. Smith led the nation in scoring among defenseman with 44 points (15g-29a). He was also recently named the WCHA’s top blueliner.

Also joining the pair from Wisconsin are University of Denver goalie Marc Cheverie and forward Rhett Rakhshani. Cheverie was named the WCHA Player of the Year and led the nation with a 24-4-3 record and a 1.94 goals-against average. As Denver’s captain, Rakhshani has 49 points (20g-29a) through 38 games, ranking him in the Top 10 nationally.

Forward Bobby Butler of the University of New Hampshire became a finalist after collecting 50 points (27g-23a) in his final 37 collegiate games. Butler is also a finalist for the Hockey Humanitarian Award.

University of Maine sophomore Gustav Nyquist led the nation with 59 points (18g-41a) this season. He was the runner-up for Hockey East’s Player of the Year award and was named a first-team conference all-star.

University of Northern Michigan forward Mark Olver led the CCHA and the Wildcats in points this season with 47 (19g-28a), and was a first-team all-conference selection.

Chase Polacek of Rensselear Polytechnic Institute paced the ECAC in scoring and ranked third in the nation with 52 points (26g-26a). He was also named conference player of the year.

Miami University goalie Cody Reichard dominated the CCHA in 2009-10, and was the conference player of the year after posting an astounding 18-3-3 record, with a 1.64 goals-against average.

Ben Scrivens, goalie for Cornell University, ended the season ranked second in nation in nearly every statistical category. His 19-8-4 record, coupled with his 1.89 goals-against average led the ECAC.

View More