Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Nashville Predators

Four Predators request salary arbitration

by Staff Writer / Nashville Predators

Four Nashville Predators who qualified for arbitration rights this summer filed before Wednesday's deadline to have their salaries determined by a third party. The four players--all forwards--are Martin Erat, Scott Hartnell, Adam Hall, and David Legwand.

A new contract can still be negotiated between a player and the Predators organization until the time of an arbitration hearing. Hearings will be scheduled between July 20 and August 4, and arbitration decisions must be announced before an August 6 deadline.

The above foursome was among 10 Group II restricted free agents that the Predators extended qualifying offers to before a June 26 deadline. By making a qualifying offer to a player, the organization retains the right to match any contract offer made to that player by another club. If a qualified Predators player receives a contract offer that Nashville declines to match, the Predators will be eligible for draft pick compensation based on the player's new salary. The 10 players whom Nashville extended qualifying offers to were:

Sheldon Brookbank
Greg Classen
Brandon Segal
Jordin Tootoo
Martin Erat (arbitration rights)
Adam Hall (arbitration rights)
Dan Hamhuis (arbitration rights)
Scott Hartnell (arbitration rights)
David Legwand (arbitration rights)
Libor Pivko (arbitration rights)

Defenseman Dan Hamhuis and forward Libor Pivko, both of whom had also acquired a sufficient level of professional experience to qualify for arbitration rights, elected not to file for arbitration. Hamhuis and Pivko still have until July 15 to accept Nashville's qualifying offers.

The Predators declined to extend qualifying offers to five Group II restricted free agents: forwards Denis Arkhipov, Jukka Hentunen, and Jeremy Yablonski; defenseman Rick Berry; and goaltender Brian Finley. These players became unrestricted free agents on July 1.


View More