Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Nashville Predators

Arnott A Model of Consistency

by Jay Levin / Nashville Predators

Preds 20 Goal Scorers

Denis Arkhipov (1) - 2001-02
Jason Arnott (3) - 2006-07, 2007-08, 2008-09
J.P. Dumont (2) - 2006-07, 2007-08
Martin Erat (2) - 2005-06, 2007-08
Scott Hartnell (2) - 2005-06, 2006-07
Andreas Johansson (1) - 2002-03
Paul Kariya (2) - 2005-06, 2006-07
Patric Kjellberg (1) - 1999-2000
Sergei Krivokrasov (1) - 1998-99
David Legwand (1) - 2006-07
Yanic Perreault (1) - 2005-06
Alexander Radulov (1) - 2007-08
Cliff Ronning (1) - 1999-2000
Steve Sullivan (2) - 2005-06, 2006-07
Scott Walker (2) - 2000-01, 2003-04

Preds Captain Jason Arnott scored his 20th goal of the season in Sunday's game, converting a give-and-go with J.P. Dumont in the middle of the second period. It marked the 10th consecutive season Arnott has reached the 20-goal plateau, and the 12th time in his NHL career. The last time Arnott did not score at least 20 goals in a season was the 1997-98 season when he was traded from Edmonton to New Jersey mid-season, finishing with 10 goals and 33 points in 70 games combined between the two teams. Two years later he was centering the league’s premiere line: New Jersey’s “A-Line” with Patrik Elias and Petr Sykora.

Only five active players have longer streaks of consecutive 20-goal seasons than Arnott's 10-year string -- and three of them are in serious jeopardy this season. Brendan Shanahan and Mats Sundin have the two longest active streaks; Shanahan 19 season and Sundin 17. But both missed the first half of season and would need very strong finishing kicks to keep his streak alive; Shanahan needs 17 goals in New Jersey's final 29 games, while Sundin needs 16 in Vancouver's final 30 games. Joe Sakic's string of 11 consecutive seasons with at least 20 goals is also likely to end. Sakic, currently on IR, has two goals this season.

Most Consecutive 20-Goal Seasons, Active Players

19 - Brendan Shanahan (1988-89 to 2007-08)
17 - Mats Sundin (1990-91 to 2007-08)
12 - Keith Tkachuk (1992-93 to 2003-04)
11 - Teemu Selanne (1992-93 to 2002-03)
11 - Joe Sakic (1995-96 to 2006-07)
10 - Jason Arnott (1998-99 to present)
10 - Jarome Iginla (1998-99 to present)
10 - Miroslav Satan (1996-97 to 2006-07)
10 - Petr Sykora (1998-99 to present)

denotes streak already extended this season
It may seem routine for Arnott to score 20 goals, but by netting his 20th he set a franchise milestone – becoming the first player to reach the 20-goal mark in three consecutive seasons for the Preds. Impressive when you think of the great goal scorers who have donned a Preds jersey in the past. But more impressive has been the magnitude of Arnott’s goals; 12 of his 20 scores have either tied the game or given the Preds a lead. Since signing with Nashville, 41 of Arnott’s 75 goals have either tied the game or given the Preds a lead.

Arnott has been at his best during the team's post-All-Star Break run, scoring five goals in the seven games since the Break, including a career-best four game goal scoring streak. He scored the game-winning goal in Friday night's win at Minnesota, the 350th goal of his career. One night earlier against Anaheim, he scored the go-ahead goal and assisted on the game-winner.

Arnott hasn’t done things the “easy way.” Only six of his goals have come on the power-play and his 14 even strength scores rank among the league’s top-25. Further, of his 20 goals, 13 have come on the road, tied for the seventh-most in the league this season.

View More