Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Nashville Predators

3 Preds Prospects Named To Team OHL For Super Series

by Staff Writer / Nashville Predators
Toronto, ON – Predators prospects Taylor Beck, Ryan Ellis, and Michael Latta were among the Ontario Hockey League players named to the Team OHL roster that will compete against Team Russia in the 2010 SUBWAY® Super Series. Earlier this week Preds prospect Charles-Olivier Roussel was named to Team QMJHL.

Following two games hosted in the QMJHL, the OHL leg of the six-game series begins in London on Thursday November 11 at the John Labatt Centre before moving north to the Sudbury Community Arena on Monday November 15. The series then shifts west for two games hosted in the WHL.

“The SUBWAY® Super Series provides these players with a tremendous opportunity to demonstrate that they can compete amongst the best players eligible for the 2011 IIHF World Junior Championship,” said Dave Cameron of the Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors, who will serve as Head Coach of both Team OHL and Team Canada. “The OHL has had a lot of success against the Russians in this event and I am confident that we have assembled another strong group of players in all positions that will make us competitive in these games, and with players who will make a strong push to represent the OHL on Team Canada in Buffalo this December.”

36 players in total were selected for Team OHL rosters including 2010 Team Canada members Calvin de Haan of the Oshawa Generals, and Ryan Ellis of the Windsor Spitfires who won silver last year at the IIHF World Junior Championship. The rosters are also highlighted by three first round picks in the 2010 NHL Entry Draft including Erik Gudbranson of the Kingston Frontenacs, Joey Hishon of the Owen Sound Attack, and Mark Visentin of the Niagara IceDogs. In addition to de Haan and Ellis, 2009 first round picks Peter Holland of the Guelph Storm and Zack Kassian of the Windsor Spitfires will compete in the series. Scott Harrington of the London Knights is one of seven players competing that are eligible for the 2011 NHL Entry Draft. He will represent the host Knights in London alongside forward Michael MacDonald, while Wolves’ forwards Marcus Foligno and John McFarland will represent the host team in Sudbury.

The Team OHL rosters were assembled by a selection committee that includes Brampton Battalion General Manager and Head Coach Stan Butler, and London Knights’ General Manager Mark Hunter. Both Butler and Hunter worked in conjunction with Hockey Canada Head Scout Kevin Prendergast.

All six games will be broadcast nationally on Rogers Sportsnet starting at 7 pm (ET) while RDS will broadcast the two contests in Saint John and Drummondville. Associate sponsors for the event are Bank of Montreal and CCM.

Team OHL Roster – November 11, 2010
*Players competing in both games

Goal (2):
Scott Stajcer, Owen Sound Attack
Scott Wedgewood, Plymouth Whalers

Defence (6):
Jesse Blacker, Owen Sound Attack*
Calvin de Haan, Oshawa Generals
Taylor Doherty, Kingston Frontenacs*
Erik Gudbranson, Kingston Frontenacs*
Scott Harrington, London Knights
Ryan Murphy, Kitchener Rangers

Forwards (13):
Taylor Beck, Guelph Storm
Sam Carrick, Brampton Battalion
Joey Hishon, Owen Sound Attack*
Peter Holland, Guelph Storm
Boone Jenner, Oshawa Generals
Michael Latta, Guelph Storm
Lucas Lessio, Oshawa Generals
Michael MacDonald, London Knights
Ryan Martindale, Ottawa 67’s
Christian Thomas, Oshawa Generals
Tyler Toffoli, Ottawa 67’s
Ethan Werek, Kingston Frontenacs*
Garrett Wilson, Owen Sound Attack
Team OHL Roster – November 15, 2010
*Players competing in both games

Goal (2):
JP Anderson, Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors
Mark Visentin, Niagara IceDogs

Defence (6):
Brock Beukeboom, Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds
Jesse Blacker, Owen Sound Attack*
Taylor Doherty, Kingston Frontenacs*
Ryan Ellis, Windsor Spitfires
Erik Gudbranson, Kingston Frontenacs*
Dougie Hamilton, Niagara IceDogs

Forwards (12):
Casey Cizikas, Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors
Marcus Foligno, Sudbury Wolves
Joey Hishon, Owen Sound Attack*
Zack Kassian, Windsor Spitfires
John McFarland, Sudbury Wolves
Greg McKegg, Erie Otters
Matt Puempel, Peterborough Petes
Justin Shugg, Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors
Devante Smith-Pelly, Mississauga St. Michael’s Majors
Ryan Spooner, Peterborough Petes
Ryan Strome, Niagara IceDogs
Ethan Werek, Kingston Frontenacs

View More