Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Nashville Predators

3 Preds Prospects Honored by OHL

by Staff Writer / Nashville Predators
Preds 2009 draftees Taylor Beck, Ryan Ellis, and Michael Latta were ranked among the best players in the Onatrio Hockey League this season. Coaches from the OHL's Western Conference voted Ellis the conference's Best Offensive Defenseman and Best Shot. Ellis ranked second in Hardest Shot and Smartest Player. Beck was voted third in Most Dangerous in the Goal Area category, while Latta was third in the Best Stickhandler category (behind Nazim Kadri, the No. 7 overall pick in last summer's Entry Draft, and Tyler Seguin, a projected top-3 pick in this summer's Entry Draft).

From OHL media release
OHL Announces 2009-10 Western Conference Coaches Poll Winners
Toronto, ON – The Ontario Hockey League today announced the results of the 2009-10 Western Conference Coaches Poll.

The OHL Coaches Poll provides member club coaches with the opportunity to recognize the top three players in 16 different skill categories within their own conference.

Jacob Muzzin of the Sault Ste. Marie Greyhounds leads the way finishing first place in three categories that include Hardest Shot, Best Defensive Defenceman, and tied for first in the Best Body Checker category. Muzzin also finished second in the voting for Best Offensive Defenceman. AJ Jenks and Tyler Seguin of the Plymouth Whalers, along with Taylor Hall, Scott Timmins, and Ryan Ellis of the Windsor Spitfires each won two categories. Jenks was named Most Underrated Player and Best on Face-Offs, while Seguin appeared in four different categories winning Smartest Player and Best Playmaker. Hall was named Most Dangerous in the Goal Area and won the Best Skater category for the second straight year. Timmins was named Best Penalty Killer and also claimed the Best Defensive Forward category for the second straight season. Ellis was last season’s top overall winner and is represented in four categories this season finishing first place in votes for the Best Shot, and the Best Offensive Defenceman category for the second straight year. Nazem Kadri wins the title of Best Stickhandler after finishing second in this category the last two seasons. The Windsor Spitfires finished with a total of six first place winners to lead the Western Conference.

Each team submits one nominee per category and coaches then vote for the top three players for each category within their conference and are not permitted to vote for players on their own team. Players receive five points for a first place vote, three points for a second place vote, and one point for a third place vote.

All 16 Western Conference categories are listed below with the point totals in brackets. The winners from the Eastern Conference were announced on Wednesday.

Western Conference:
Most Underrated Player
AJ Jenks, Plymouth (24)
Justin Shugg, Windsor (21)
Garrett Wilson, Owen Sound (20)

Most Improved Player
Greg McKegg, Erie (23)
Josh Shalla, Saginaw (19)
Brett Thompson, Sault Ste. Marie (15)

Smartest Player
Tyler Seguin, Plymouth (24)
Ryan Ellis, Windsor (23)
Jeff Skinner, Kitchener (14)

Hardest Worker
Garrett Wilson, Owen Sound (23)
Eric Wellwood, Windsor (15)
Jordan Szwarz, Saginaw (14)

Best Playmaker
Tyler Seguin, Plymouth (30)
Jordan Skellett, Saginaw (16)
Joey Hishon, Owen Sound (15)

Most Dangerous in the Goal Area
Taylor Hall, Windsor (27)
Jeremy Morin, Kitchener tied Tyler Seguin, Plymouth (22)
Taylor Beck, Guelph (16)

Best Skater
Taylor Hall, Windsor (39)
John Moore, Kitchener (18)
Nazem Kadri, London (14)

Best Shot
Ryan Ellis, Windsor (29)
Jeremy Morin, Kitchener (28)
Peter Holland, Guelph (11)

Hardest Shot
Jacob Muzzin, Sault Ste. Marie (37)
Ryan Ellis, Windsor (20)
Sam Lofquist, Guelph (10)

Best Stickhandler
Nazem Kadri, London (33)
Tyler Seguin, Plymouth (26)
Michael Latta, Guelph (8)

Best on Face-Offs
AJ Jenks, Plymouth (31)
Scott Timmins, Windsor (24)
Tyler Murovich, Saginaw (17)

Best Body Checker
Leigh Salters, London tied Jacob Muzzin, Sault Ste. Marie (20)
Mike Halmo, Owen Sound (18)
Marc Cantin, Windsor (10)

Best Defensive Forward
Scott Timmins, Windsor (41)
Tyler Murovich, Saginaw (27)
Joe Gaynor, Plymouth (7)

Best Penalty Killer
Scott Timmins, Windsor (35)
Joe Gaynor, Plymouth (21)
Garrett Hunter, London (8)

Best Offensive Defenceman
Ryan Ellis, Windsor (39)
Jacob Muzzin, Sault Ste. Marie (23)
Steven Tarasuk, London (16)

Best Defensive Defenceman
Jacob Muzzin, Sault Ste. Marie (26)
Dan Kelly, Kitchener (25)
Leo Jenner, Plymouth (15)

View More