Skip to Main Content
The Official Site of the Pittsburgh Penguins

Penguins Announce All-Time Team

by Staff Writer / Pittsburgh Penguins
The Pittsburgh Penguins today announced their All-Time Team and unveiled a unique interactive display that will honor Penguins’ history, just inside the Trib Total Media gate at CONSOL Energy Center.

The Trib Total Media Penguins All-Time Team Zone features touch screens with video, photos, bios and stats of the 15 players on the All-Time Team, as well as some of the most influential coaches, general managers, executives and support staff members in team history.

There also is a virtual Stanley Cup display and video highlights of some of the Penguins’ greatest moments.

The players on the All-Time Team were selected by fans and a panel of media and team officials. Active NHL players were not eligible.

Leading the team, of course, is Mario Lemieux – and he is joined by four other Hockey Hall of Famers in Paul Coffey, Ron Francis, Joe Mullen and Larry Murphy.

Other members of the All-Time Team are Syl Apps, Tom Barrasso, Les Binkley, Dave Burrows, Jaromir Jagr, Rick Kehoe, Pierre Larouche, Jean Pronovost, Kevin Stevens and Ulf Samuelsson. View the All-Time Team Page.

“It’s really an impressive group, and it certainly reminds us of the tremendous individual talent and great team moments that have defined Penguins history,” team president David Morehouse said. “And we can’t wait until our fans get a chance to experience the interactive Trib Total Media Penguins All-Time Team Zone. It is amazing.”

There also is a category for ‘Other Notable Penguins,” honoring a group of five other players who got a lot of support from the fans and media/team panel but did not make the final group of 15 – Randy Carlyle, Lowell MacDonald, Ron Stackhouse, Martin Straka and Rick Tocchet.

As for the “Builders” category, the Penguins are honoring head coaches Bob Johnson, Scotty Bowman and Herb Brooks, general managers Craig Patrick and Jack Riley and GM/coach Eddie Johnston. Also figuring in this category are former owner Edward J. DeBartolo Sr. and a wide range of support staff members – broadcaster Mike Lange, organist Vince Lascheid, public address announcer John Barbero, executive assistant Elaine Heufelder and long-time locker room attendants A.T. Caggiano and Frank Sciulli.

In addition, there is a segment of the All-Time Team display honoring the “Fans” – because, as Morehouse said, “Without the support of our fans, we have no franchise. The Fans are part of our All-Time Team, and it’s great to be able to salute them in this way.”

The Trib Total Media Penguins All-Time Team Zone is located next to the PensGear team store and the CONSOL Energy Center box office – meaning it will be open to the general public on weekdays.
View More