Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Florida Panthers

Panthers News

Florida Panthers Announce 2009 Preseason Schedule

by Staff Writer / Florida Panthers
Cats to Play Two Preseason Contests in Finland; Florida & Chicago Face-off in Compuware NHL Premiere Series at Hartwall Areena in Helsinki on Oct. 2 & 3

SUNRISE, FL –The Florida Panthers today announced their nine game 2009 preseason schedule.

Florida opens the preseason on Tuesday, Sept. 15 with a game against the Ottawa Senators at the Halifax Metro Centre, followed by contests in Ottawa (Sept. 16), in Montreal (Sept. 17) and in Edmonton (Sept. 18). The Cats will also play in Calgary on Sunday, Sept. 20 and in Dallas on Tuesday, Sept. 22, before returning to South Florida.

The Panthers host their lone preseason game on Wednesday, Sept. 23 against the Dallas Stars at 7:30 p.m. Fans interested in purchasing tickets for the preseason game can call (954) 835-PUCK. 

Florida completes their pre-season slate with two exhibition games in Finland on Monday, Sept. 28 at the Hakametsän Arena in Tampere against Tappara and on Wednesday, Sept. 30 at Hartwall Areena in Helsinki against Jokerit. As announced in February, Florida opens the 2009-10 regular season against the Chicago Blackhawks in the 2009 Compuware NHL Premiere Series at Hartwall Areena in Helsinki on Friday, Oct, 2 and Saturday, Oct. 3.

Fans can purchase tickets for the game in Tampere beginning on Aug. 3, by logging onto and tickets are currently on sale for all of the games in Helsinki, by logging onto

Panthers players will report to training camp in South Florida for medical and fitness testing and arrive in Nova Scotia on Saturday, Sept. 12. The first day of on-ice training will take place on Sunday, Sept. 13, in Port Hawkesbury.  A complete training camp schedule will be released in the upcoming weeks.

Tues., Sept 15
vs Ottawa Senators
Halifax Metro
Wed. Sept. 16
@ Ottawa Senators
Scotiabank Place
Thu. Sept. 17
@ Montreal Canadiens
Bell Centre
Fri. Sept. 18
@ Edmonton Oilers
Rexall Place
Sun. Sept. 20
@ Calgary Flames
Pengrowth Saddledome
Tue. Sept. 22
@ Dallas Stars
American Airlines Arena
Wed. Sept 23
vs Dallas Stars
BankAtlantic Center
Mon. Sept. 28
@ Tappara
Hakametsän Arena
Wed. Sept. 30
@ Jokerit
Hartwall Areena

Sunrise Sports & Entertainment is the premier company of its kind in South Florida. Follow us on Twitter, Facebook, MySpace and YouTube. Home to more than 200 events annually and the Florida Panthers Hockey Club, the BankAtlantic Center was a finalist for Arena of the Year in annual awards given by trade publication Pollstar. The BankAtlantic Center welcomes more than two million guests each year and is also the home of Sawgrass Live presented by BankAtlantic.

View More