Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Edmonton Oilers

Sportsnet Laces Up to Deliver Exclusive Coverage of 2016-17 Edmonton Oilers Season

by Staff Writer / Edmonton Oilers

As Oiler hockey fans patiently await the arrival of October's puck drop and the highly-anticipated opening of Rogers Place, one of the most connected arenas in North America, Sportsnet is gearing up to deliver exclusive wall-to-wall coverage of the Oilers' 2016-17 regular season. Sportsnet's Edmonton Oilers broadcast schedule, featuring 37 national games and 45 regional games, kicks off on the NHL's opening night, Wednesday, October 12 at 8 p.m. MDT / 10 p.m. ET as Edmonton hosts the Calgary Flames as part of the festivities at Rogers Place. (See full regular season schedule below).

 

Fans can also stream all national and regional Oilers games live across the country. Edmonton Oilers fans within team's regional broadcast territory can now stream regional broadcasts via Sportsnet NOW, as well as all national Oilers games that are broadcast on Sportsnet, Sportsnet ONE or Sportsnet 360. Edmonton Oilers fans outside of the regional broadcast territory can stream all 82 games, national and out-of-market, on Rogers NHL GameCentre LIVE.*

 

On TV - Regional

Sportsnet West will be home to 34 regional Oilers games this season, with the remaining 11 matchups broadcast on Sportsnet Oilers, the Sportsnet ONE companion channel. Fans can tune in Tuesday, October 18 at 7 p.m. MDT as the Oilers kick off their regional schedule against Cam Ward and the Carolina Hurricanes on Sportsnet Oilers.

 

Play-by-play commentator Kevin Quinn returns to the Oilers broadcast booth this season, alongside game analyst Drew Remenda, while Gene Principe reports from ice level. Louie DeBrusk and Mark Spector round out Sportsnet's team in Edmonton, providing additional commentary for Oilers home broadcasts.

 

Highlights from Sportsnet's Edmonton Oilers regional coverage include:

· 15 matchups against Pacific Division rivals, including five games against the 2016 Western Conference Champion San Jose Sharks

· Four all-Canadian battles, starting on Sunday, October 30 when the Oilers host Erik Karlsson and the Ottawa Senators (Sportsnet Oilers)

· Taylor Hall's first game back in the City of Champions since his June trade, as the Oilers host the New Jersey Devils on Thursday, January 12 (Sportsnet West)

 

On TV - National

Sportsnet will air 46 national Edmonton Oilers broadcasts across Canada this season. Highlights from the national broadcast schedule include:

· An outdoor showdown against conference rival Winnipeg Jets at Investors Group Field for the 2016 Tim Hortons NHL Heritage Classic on Sunday, Oct. 23 (Sportsnet)

· 15 matchups on Hockey Night in Canada, including two back-to-back Saturday night clashes against historic rival, the Calgary Flames on January 14 and January 21

· Five Sunday appearances on Rogers Hometown Hockey, including the season three premiere headlined by Connor McDavid and the Oilers hosting Jack Eichel and the Buffalo Sabres on October 16 (Sportsnet)

 

*Note: Regional restrictions apply in Rogers NHL GameCentre LIVE when an Oilers out-of-market game is considered an in-market game within their opponent's local territory.

 

In addition to Sportsnet's Edmonton Oilers regional broadcasts, Sportsnet will deliver exclusive coverage of more than 450 national and regional NHL games this season. Headlined by the launch of the NHL's Centennial Season, Sportsnet's 2016-17 schedule will deliver premium Canadian match-ups chock full of NHL star power, two outdoor games in Canada including the NHL Heritage Classic in Winnipeg and the NHL Centennial Classic in Toronto on New Year's Day, the Bridgestone NHL Winter Classic, the NHL Stadium Series, the 2017 NHL All-Star Game in Los Angeles and the 17th annual Scotiabank Hockey Day in Canada - all culminating with the 2017 Stanley Cup Playoffs and Stanley Cup Final.

 

As home of hockey's brightest stars, Sportsnet is also the official regional television broadcast rights holder for the Vancouver Canucks, Calgary Flames (including radio rights on Sportsnet 960 The FAN), Montreal Canadiens (English-language Canadian coverage), and Toronto Maple Leafs (including radio rights on Sportsnet 590 The FAN).

 

 

2016-17 Edmonton Oilers Broadcast Schedule

*Schedule subject to change

** All games will also be available on Rogers NHL GameCentre LIVE

***All national games broadcast on Sportsnet, Sportsnet ONE, or Sportsnet 360 are also available for streaming on Sportsnet NOW

 

October

· Wednesday, Oct. 12, Calgary @ Edmonton, 8 p.m. MDT / 10 p.m. ET (National - Sportsnet)

· Friday, Oct. 14, Edmonton @ Calgary, 7 p.m. MDT / 9 p.m. ET (National - Sportsnet 360)

· Sunday, Oct. 16, Buffalo @ Edmonton, 5 p.m. MDT / 7 p.m. ET (National - Sportsnet ONE)

· Tuesday, Oct. 18, Carolina @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MDT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet Oilers)

· Thursday, Oct. 20, St. Louis @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MDT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet Oilers)

· Sunday, Oct. 23, 2016 Tim Hortons NHL Heritage Classic, Edmonton @ Winnipeg, 1 p.m. MDT / 3 p.m. ET (National - Sportsnet)

· Wednesday, Oct. 26, Washington @ Edmonton, 7:30 p.m. MDT / 9:30 p.m. ET (National - Sportsnet ONE)

· Friday, Oct. 28, Edmonton @ Vancouver, 8 p.m. MDT / 10 p.m. ET (National - Sportsnet 360)

· Sunday, Oct. 30, Ottawa @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MDT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet Oilers)

 

November

· Tuesday, Nov. 1, Edmonton @ Toronto, 5:30 p.m. MDT / 7:30 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet Oilers)

· Thursday, Nov. 3, Edmonton @ N.Y. Rangers, 5 p.m. MDT / 7 p.m. ET (National - Sportsnet 360)

· Saturday, Nov. 5, Edmonton @ N.Y. Islanders, 5 p.m. MDT / 7 p.m. ET (National - Hockey Night in Canada)

· Sunday, Nov. 6, Edmonton @ Detroit, 3 p.m. MST / 5 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

· Tuesday, Nov. 8, Edmonton @ Pittsburgh, 5 p.m. MST / 7 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

· Friday, Nov. 11, Dallas @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MST / 9 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

· Sunday, Nov. 13, N.Y. Rangers @ Edmonton, 7:30 p.m. MST / 9:30 p.m. ET (National - Sportsnet ONE)

· Tuesday, Nov. 15, Edmonton @ Anaheim, 8 p.m. MST / 10 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet Oilers)

· Thursday, Nov. 17, Edmonton @ Los Angeles, 8:30 p.m. MST / 10:30 p.m. ET (National - Sportsnet 360)

· Saturday, Nov. 19, Edmonton @ Dallas, 5 p.m. MST / 7 p.m. ET (National - Hockey Night in Canada)

· Monday, Nov. 21, Chicago @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MST / 9 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet Oilers)

· Wednesday, Nov. 23, Edmonton @ Colorado, 8 p.m. MST / 10 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

· Friday, Nov. 25, Edmonton @ Arizona, 7 p.m. MST / 9 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet Oilers)

· Sunday, Nov. 27, Arizona @ Edmonton, 1 p.m. MST / 3 p.m. Et (National - Sportsnet)

· Tuesday, Nov. 29, Toronto @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MST / 9 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

 

December

· Thursday, Dec. 1, Edmonton @ Winnipeg, 6 p.m. MST / 8 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet Oilers)

· Saturday, Dec. 3, Anaheim @ Edmonton, 8 p.m. MST / 10 p.m. ET (National - Hockey Night in Canada)

· Sunday, Dec. 4, Minnesota @ Edmonton, 7:30 p.m. MST / 9:30 p.m. ET (National - Sportsnet 360)

· Tuesday, Dec. 6, Edmonton @ Buffalo, 5 p.m. MST / 7 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

· Thursday, Dec. 8, Edmonton @ Philadelphia, 5 p.m. MST / 7 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet Oilers)

· Friday, Dec. 9, Edmonton @ Minnesota, 6 p.m. MST / 8 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

· Sunday, Dec. 11, Winnipeg @ Edmonton, 7:30 p.m. MST / 9:30 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet Oilers)

· Tuesday, Dec. 13, Columbus @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MST / 9 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

· Saturday, Dec. 17, Tampa Bay @ Edmonton, 8 p.m. MST / 10 p.m. ET (National - Hockey Night in Canada)

· Monday, Dec. 19, Edmonton @ St. Louis, 6 p.m. MST / 8 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

· Wednesday, Dec. 21, Edmonton @ Arizona, 7:30 p.m. MST / 9:30 p.m. ET (National - Sportsnet ONE)

· Friday, Dec. 23, Edmonton @ San Jose, 8:30 p.m. MST / 10:30 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet Oilers)

· Thursday, Dec. 29, Los Angeles @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MST / 9 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

· Saturday, Dec. 31, Vancouver @ Edmonton, 8 p.m. MST / 10 p.m. ET (National - Hockey Night in Canada)

 

January

· Tuesday, Jan. 3, Edmonton @ Columbus, 5 p.m. MST / 7 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

· Thursday, Jan. 5, Edmonton @ Boston, 5 p.m. MST / 7 p.m. ET (National - Sportsnet)

· Saturday, Jan. 7, Edmonton @ New Jersey, 5 p.m. MST / 7 p.m. ET (National - Hockey Night in Canada)

· Sunday, Jan. 8, Edmonton @ Ottawa, 5 p.m. MST / 7 p.m. ET (National - Sportsnet)

· Tuesday, Jan. 10, San Jose @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MST / 9 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

· Thursday, Jan. 12, New Jersey @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MST / 9 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

· Saturday, Jan. 14, Calgary @ Edmonton, 8 p.m. MST / 10 p.m. ET (National - Hockey Night in Canada)

· Monday, Jan. 16, Arizona @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MST / 9 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

· Wednesday, Jan. 18, Florida @ Edmonton, 7:30 p.m. MST / 9:30 p.m. ET (National - Sportsnet ONE)

· Friday, Jan. 20, Nashville @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MST / 9 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

· Saturday, Jan. 21, Edmonton @ Calgary, 8 p.m. MST / 10 p.m. ET (National - Hockey Night in Canada)

· Wednesday, Jan. 25, Edmonton @ Anaheim, 8 p.m. MST / 10 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

· Thursday, Jan. 26, Edmonton @ San Jose, 8:30 p.m. MST / 10:30 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

· Tuesday, Jan. 31, Minnesota @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MST / 9 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

 

February

· Thursday, Feb. 2, Edmonton @ Nashville, 6 p.m. MST / 8 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

· Friday, Feb. 3, Edmonton @ Carolina, 5:30 p.m. MST / 7:30 p.m. ET (National - Sportsnet)

· Sunday, Feb. 5, Edmonton @ Montreal, 11 a.m. MST / 1 p.m. ET (National - Sportsnet)

· Saturday, Feb. 11, Chicago @ Edmonton, 8 p.m. MST / 10 p.m. ET (National - Hockey Night in Canada)

· Tuesday, Feb. 14, Arizona @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MST / 9 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

· Thursday, Feb. 16, Philadelphia @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MST / 9 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

· Saturday, Feb. 18, Edmonton @ Chicago, 5 p.m. MST / 7 p.m. ET (National - Scotiabank Hockey Day in Canada)

· Tuesday, Feb. 21, Edmonton @ Tampa Bay, 5:30 p.m. MST / 7:30 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

· Wednesday, Feb. 22, Edmonton @ Florida, 5:30 p.m. MST / 7:30 p.m. ET (National - Sportsnet West)

· Friday, Feb. 24, Edmonton @ Washington, 5 p.m. MST / 7 p.m. ET (National - Sportsnet)

· Sunday, Feb. 26, Edmonton @ Nashville, 3 p.m. MST / 5 p.m. ET (National - Sportsnet ONE)

· Tuesday, Feb. 28, Edmonton @ St. Louis, 6 p.m. MST / 8 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

March

· Saturday, March 4, Detroit @ Edmonton, 8 p.m. MST / 10 p.m. ET (National - Hockey Night in Canada)

· Tuesday, March 7, N.Y. Islanders @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MST / 9 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

· Friday, March 10, Pittsburgh @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MST / 9 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

· Sunday, March 12, Montreal @ Edmonton, 5 p.m. MDT / 7 p.m. ET (National - Sportsnet)

· Tuesday, March 14, Dallas @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MDT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

· Thursday, March 16, Boston @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MDT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

· Saturday, March 18, Vancouver @ Edmonton, 8 p.m. MDT / 10 p.m. ET (National - Hockey Night in Canada)

· Monday, March 20, Los Angeles @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MDT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

· Wednesday, March 22, Edmonton @ Anaheim, 8 p.m. MDT / 10 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

· Thursday, March 23, Edmonton @ Colorado, 7 p.m. MDT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

· Saturday, March 25, Colorado @ Edmonton, 8 p.m. MDT / 10 p.m. ET (National - Hockey Night in Canada)

· Tuesday, March 28, Los Angeles @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MDT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

· Thursday, March 30, San Jose @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MDT / 9 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

 

April

· Saturday, April 1, Anaheim @ Edmonton, 8 p.m. MDT / 10 p.m. ET (National - Hockey Night in Canada)

· Tuesday, April 4, Edmonton @ Los Angeles, 8:30 p.m. MDT / 10:30 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

· Thursday, April 6, Edmonton @ San Jose, 8:30 p.m. MDT / 10:30 p.m. ET (Regional - Sportsnet West)

· Saturday, April 8, Edmonton @ Vancouver, 8 p.m. MDT / 10 p.m. ET (National - Hockey Night in Canada)

· Sunday, April 9, Vancouver @ Edmonton, 7 p.m. MDT / 9 p.m. ET (National - Sportsnet)

 

 

 

 

 

View More