Skip to main content
The Official Site of the Edmonton Oilers

2016 IIHF World Championships - Day 1

by Chris Wescott / Edmonton Oilers
The Edmonton Oilers have seven players participating in the 2016 IIHF World Hockey Championships in Russia: Connor McDavid (Canada), Cam Talbot (Canada), Taylor Hall (Canada), Matt Hendricks (USA), Patrick Maroon (USA), Andrej Sekera (Slovakia) and Leon Draisaitl (Germany).

We will have daily updates on the games involving Oilers players, highlights, stats and more so be sure to check regularly!


Canada clobbered the United States 5-1 in their opening game of the tournament Friday. The Canadians were backstopped by Oilers goalie Cam Talbot, who saved 24 of 25 shots. Oilers forward Taylor Hall scored for Canada in the win, while Oilers winger Patrick Maroon added a goal for Team USA in the loss.

Maroon opened the scoring for the Americans at 4:54 of the first period, assisted by Kyle Connor and David Warsofsky. Unfortunately for Team USA, that would be their lone bright spot.

Hall quickly potted the equalizer at 5:25, assisted by Derick Brassard and Corey Perry. Canada made it 2-1 at the end of the first with a Brendan Gallagher goal at 8:48.

The Canadians scored one in the second and two more in the third, while Talbot kept the Americans out the rest of the way.

“It felt unbelievable,” Talbot told TSN’s Ryan Rishaug after the game. “It’s a dream come true to come out here and wear the Canada crest. The guys battled hard all night and this was a hard-fought victory.”

Oilers Connor McDavid played 17:37 for Team Canada, but was held without a point. Hall finished the game with three shots on goal and one score in 16:46.

For USA, Maroon was the lone goal scorer. He added four penalty minutes and three shots on goal in 12:57. Team USA captain and Oilers forward Matt Hendricks played 12:25 and had two penalty minutes.

Canada’s next play Hungary on Sunday at 3:15 am MT. The Americans set their sights on their first win of the preliminary round when they play Belarus Saturday at 11:15 am MT. We’ll have coverage of those games on

-- Chris Wescott,

View More